book cover of Wake
Added by 86 members
 

Wake

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
2023 Ned Kelly Award for Best Debut Crime Novel

'Incredible! A vividly told mystery, perfect for fans of Jane Harper' ALLIE REYNOLDS, AUTHOR OF SHIVER

'A triumphant debut' ROSE CARLYLE

'Intriguing and compelling. Shelley Burr is a bright new talent'
CHRIS HAMMER

EVERYBODY THINKS THEY KNOW MINA McCREERY.
EVERYONE HAS A THEORY ON WHAT HAPPENED TO HER SISTER.
NOW IT'S TIME TO FIND OUT THE TRUTH...


Mina McCreery's sister Evelyn disappeared nineteen years ago. Her life has been defined by the intense public interest in the case. Now an anxious and reclusive adult, she lives alone on her family's destocked sheep farm.

When Lane, a private investigator, approaches her with an offer to reinvestigate the case, she rejects him. The attention has had nothing but negative consequences for her and her family, and never brought them closer to an answer.

Lane wins her trust when his unconventional methods show promise, but he has his own motivations for wanting to solve the case, and his obsession with the answer will ultimately risk both their lives.

Superbly written, taut and compassionate,
Wake looks at what can happen when people's private tragedies become public property, and the ripples of trauma that follow violent crimes. Wake won the CWA Debut Dagger in 2019.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"This is Australian crime fiction at its very best." - Mark Brandi

"A nerve-jangling thriller with a brilliantly twisty plot, WAKE is also a haunting exploration of trauma in the age of celebrity victimhood. Shelley Burr's true-to-life characters, beautifully evoked landscapes and breakneck pacing make for compulsive reading." - Rose Carlyle

"One of the year's best debuts. Intriguing and compelling. Shelley Burr is a bright new talent in Australian crime fiction." - Chris Hammer

"An effortlessly accomplished, astonishing debut set against the heat and isolation of the Australian outback." - Dinuka McKenzie

"If you love Jane Harper's books, you will love this even more." - Kayte Nunn

"WAKE is an incredible read: a hugely compelling mystery with a vivid rural Australia setting and fascinatingly damaged characters." - Allie Reynolds


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Shelley Burr's Wake


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors