book cover of The Bus on Thursday
Added by 1 of our members

The Bus on Thursday

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
Bridget Jones meets The Exorcist in this wickedly funny, dark novel about one woman's post-cancer retreat to a remote Australian town and the horrors awaiting her

It wasn't just the bad breakup that turned Eleanor Mellett's life upside down. It was the cancer. And all the demons that came with it.

One day she felt a bit of a bump when she was scratching her armpit at work. The next thing she knew, her breast was being dissected and removed by an inappropriately attractive doctor, and she was suddenly deluged with cupcakes, judgy support groups, and her mum knitting sweaters.

Luckily, Eleanor discovers Talbingo, a remote little town looking for a primary-school teacher. Their Miss Barker up and vanished in the night, despite being the most caring teacher ever, according to everyone. Unfortunately, Talbingo is a bit creepy. It's not just the communion-wine-guzzling friar prone to mad rants about how cancer is caused by demons. Or the unstable, overly sensitive kids, always going on about Miss Barker and her amazing sticker system. It's living alone in a remote cabin, with no cell or Internet service, wondering why there are so many locks on the front door and who is knocking on it late at night.

Riotously funny, deeply unsettling, and surprisingly poignant, Shirley Barrett's The Bus on Thursday is a wickedly weird, wild ride for fans of Helen Fielding, Maria Semple, and Stephen King.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"Shirley Barrett has crafted a quirky, one-of-kind, wild ride of a novel with demons, kangaroos, a missing school teacher, a remote town where things are strangely off-kilter, and wonderfully bizarre cast of characters. The Bus on Thursday is a darkly funny and deeply unsettling novel you'll devour in one sitting." - Jennifer McMahon

"Bursting with raucous energy, while anchored in seriousness, The Bus on Thursday is an intoxicating horror-humor romp." - Jeff VanderMeer


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Shirley Barrett's The Bus on Thursday

Hardback Editions

October 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Bus on Thursday
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
ISBN: 0-7088-9879-3 / 978-0-7088-9879-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Fleet
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2019 : UK Paperback

Title: The Bus on Thursday
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
ISBN: 0-7088-9880-7 / 978-0-7088-9880-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Fleet
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: The Bus on Thursday
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
ISBN: 1-76063-225-2 / 978-1-76063-225-0 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Bus on Thursday: A Novel
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
ISBN: 0-374-11044-1 / 978-0-374-11044-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: MCD x FSG Originals
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2018 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Bus on Thursday
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
ISBN: 1-5288-4112-3 / 978-1-5288-4112-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : UK MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Bus on Thursday
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
ISBN: 1-5288-4888-8 / 978-1-5288-4888-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Wavesound Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Bus on Thursday
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
Publisher: Wavesound Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   


October 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Bus on Thursday
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
Publisher: Wavesound Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Bus on Thursday
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
Publisher: Wavesound Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Bus on Thursday: A Novel
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
ISBN: 1-250-29813-X / 978-1-250-29813-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Bus on Thursday: A Novel
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Bus on Thursday: A Novel
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Bus on Thursday
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2018 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Bus on Thursday
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
Publisher: Fleet
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Bus on Thursday: A Novel
Author(s): Shirley Barrett
Publisher: MCD x FSG Originals
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA