book cover of The Woman in the Photograph
Added by 1 of our members

The Woman in the Photograph

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
An empowering, thought-provoking feminist novel that will change the way you see the world. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Day, Claire Fuller and Joanna Cannon.

1968. Veronica Moon, a junior photographer for a local newspaper, is frustrated by her (male) colleagues' failure to take her seriously. And then she meets Leonie on the picket line of the Ford factory at Dagenham. So begins a tumultuous, passionate and intoxicating friendship. Leonie is ahead of her time and fighting for women's equality with everything she has. She offers Veronica an exciting, free life at the dawn of a great change.

Fifty years later, Leonie is gone, and Veronica leads a reclusive life. Her groundbreaking career was cut short by one of the most famous photographs of the twentieth century.

Now, that controversial picture hangs as the centrepiece of a new feminist exhibition curated by Leonie's niece. Long-repressed memories of Veronica's extraordinary life begin to stir. It's time to break her silence, and step back into the light.

Praise for The Woman in the Photograph:

'Imaginative and moving novel - a must-read for any feminist'
Katie Fforde

'I absolutely loved The Woman in the Photograph, a compelling,original and thought-provoking look at feminism and the power of female friendships'
Sarah Franklin

'What a glorious combination: Stephanie's warm intelligence brought to bear on the complexities of second-wave feminism. I ate the book up'
Shelley Harris

'Refreshing and thought-provoking . . . a stirring exploration of female friendship and the fight for equality'
Carys Bray

'Brilliantly researched, thought-provoking, and written straight from the heart, this is undoubtedly Butland's best book yet'

Lancashire Evening Post

Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"Refreshing and thought-provoking . . . a stirring exploration of female friendship and the fight for equality." - Carys Bray

"Imaginative and moving novel - a must-read for any feminist." - Katie Fforde

"I absolutely loved The Woman in the Photograph, a compelling,original and thought-provoking look at feminism and the power of female friendships." - Sarah Franklin

"What a glorious combination: Stephanie's warm intelligence brought to bear on the complexities of second-wave feminism. I ate the book up." - Shelley Harris


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Stephanie Butland's The Woman in the Photograph

Paperback Editions

July 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Woman in the Photograph: The thought-provoking feminist novel everyone is talking about
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
ISBN: 1-78576-896-4 / 978-1-78576-896-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Woman in the Photograph
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   


July 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Woman in the Photograph
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Woman in the Photograph
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Woman in the Photograph: The thought-provoking feminist novel everyone is talking about
Author(s): Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU