New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>


(The first book in the Wintering series)
A novel by

When the Ice Age gripped the world a lucky few thousand men and women retreated into the Enclaves, massive settlements built into mountains and subterranean caverns. As the blizzards raged and the ice caps advanced the rest of mankind perished. Thousands of years passed with the flame of civilisation kept alive by Little Sister, a massive Artificial Intelligence designed to nurture the survivors and pass on the cultural heritage of man. But now the great thaw is on the way and it is time to repopulate the world. For the descendants of the original lucky ones it is time to inherit the earth, and their freedom. Or so they think, for Little Sister has other plans. Plans that Kell and Shamra will discover, plans they must overturn.

Similar Books by other authors...

(Partials, book 1)

Dan Wells

The Dirty Streets of Heaven
(Angel Doloriel / Bobby Dollar, book 1)

Tad Williams

When the Heavens Fall
(Chronicles of the Exile, book 1)

Marc Turner

The Dragonbone Chair
(Memory, Sorrow and Thorn, book 1)

Tad Williams
Used availability for Stephen Bowkett's Ice

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

May 2001 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Wintering: The Wintering: Ice
Author(s): Stephen Bowkett
ISBN: 1-85881-873-7 / 978-1-85881-873-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion Children's Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

September 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Ice (The Wintering Book 1)
Author(s): Stephen Bowkett
Publisher: Venture Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for