book cover of The Devil Makes Three
Added by 13 members
 

The Devil Makes Three

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
The devil seeks his due from two unsuspecting students in this YA horror novel for fans of The Library of the Unwritten and VE Schwab.

When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden in a secret tunnel beneath their school library, they accidentally release a devil from his book-bound prison, and he'll stop at nothing to stay free. He'll manipulate all the ink in the library books to do his bidding, he'll murder in the stacks, and he'll bleed into every inch of Tess's life until his freedom is permanent. Forced to work together, Tess and Eliot have to find a way to re-trap the devil before he kills everyone they know and love, including, increasingly, each other. And compared to what the devil has in store for them, school stress suddenly doesn't seem so bad after all.

This is a fast-paced YA crossover/gothic horror debut, with a strong romance and an eerie, page-turning plot that will make this a great choice for fans of VE Schwab and Library of the Unwritten by AJ Hackwith. The book is the perfect blend of dark humor, supernatural suspense, and rich, compelling characters.



Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"With demonic wit and a wholly human heart, Tori Bovalino's debut will grab your hand on the very first page - and you won't let go. 'The Devil Makes Three' is imaginative, original, and a genuine delight. Read this book, and tell your friends the devil made you do it." - Hannah Capin

"Grimoires, demons, and a creepy school library make this Dark Academia sure to keep readers up at night. I couldn't put this book down." - Kristen Ciccarelli

"Bovalino's debut crackles. Dripping with dark atmosphere, The Devil Makes Three is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo's Ninth House. Make sure to read this with the lights on!" - Erin A Craig

"Quietly horrifying and compulsively readable, The Devil Makes Three is as chilling as it is compelling. A recipe for nightmares." - Kat Dunn

"A spine-tingling, entrancing read. The Devil Makes Three is the perfect blend of supernatural horror and contemporary gothic, with each page as heart-pounding as the next. Tori Bovalino is an absolute master at atmosphere." - Chloe Gong

"Bovalino delivers an ink-splattered love letter to old books and dark academia. Wicked and sharp as a pen stroke, this is a delight for library goths--me included. If you ever wished your school library had a forbidden wing, then you need to read this book immediately." - A J Hackwith

"With its magical library, brooding British boy, and haunted heroine, The Devil Makes Three is as darkly compelling as the grimoires of Jessop. A thrilling debut that cast a spell on me from page one!" - Mara Rutherford

"A glorious, darkly atmospheric journey into the disturbing power of books, ink and the horrors that live inside them." - Tasha Suri


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Tori Bovalino's The Devil Makes Three


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors