book cover of Mystery by the Sea
Added by 14 of our members

Mystery by the Sea

(2021)
(The fifth book in the Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
A magnificent seaside hotel, striped deckchairs, strawberry ice cream… and a rather familiar dead body? Lady Swift is on the case!

Spring, 1921. Lady Eleanor Swift, explorer extraordinaire and accidental sleuth, hasn’t had a vacation since she arrived in England a year ago. Being an amateur detective can be a rather tiring business and she is determined to escape any more murder and mysteries. So she books into the Grand Hotel in the fashionable resort of Brighton for some fresh air, fish and chips and, of course, a dip in the ocean.

Eleanor is enjoying her view of the waves and trying to find her bathing suit when calamity strikes: a guest has been found dead at her beautiful hotel. The distraught manager, who can’t afford a scandal, asks Eleanor to solve the case as swiftly as possible. Thank goodness she has her partner in crime – Gladstone the bulldog – to help her sniff out the dastardly culprit.

But when Eleanor enters the dead man’s room, she receives a shock big enough to make her forget even the finest ice cream sundae. The body is that of her husband, who supposedly died six years ago on the other side of the world. Has he been alive all these years? Why does he have a copy of their wedding photograph with a cryptic message written on the back? If Eleanor can keep herself safe long enough to find her husband’s killer, she might discover that everything is not quite as it seems beside the seaside…

A warm and witty whodunnit! Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and L.B. Hathaway will be utterly charmed by this addictive and absolutely gripping page-turner.

What readers are saying about Mystery by the Sea:


OMG! What an incredible read!... When I devour a book this quickly it only means one thing: I was so enraptured that I couldn’t put it down!’ Celebrating Authors ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Had me hooked immediately… Kept me entertained thoroughly throughout with mystery after mystery and clue after clue… I never did work out who the killer was and was completely shocked when they were discovered.’ Bookworm 1986 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Hits it out of the ballpark! I highly recommend… Wonderful sleuthing by Lady Eleanor and her partners in crime. The murder is well done – I did not guess but it.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘The pace is fast, it’s twisty… and highly entertaining. There are plenty of suspects in this one which link well into the story, keeping you engaged to learn whodunnit with the conclusion and unmasking of the villain of the piece a good surprise.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Loved it!... Unexpected events and twists from the start.’ Arlene’s Book Reviews ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Verity Bright's Mystery by the Sea

Paperback Editions

March 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Mystery by the Sea: An utterly addictive English cozy mystery: 5 (A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery)
Author(s): Verity Bright
ISBN: 1-80019-394-7 / 978-1-80019-394-9
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Mystery by the Sea: A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery, Book 5
Author(s): Verity Bright
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


March 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Mystery by the Sea: A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery, Book 5
Author(s): Verity Bright
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Mystery by the Sea: A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery, Book 5
Author(s): Verity Bright
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Mystery by the Sea: A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery, Book 5
Author(s): Verity Bright
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Mystery by the Sea: An utterly addictive English cozy mystery (A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery Book 5)
Author(s): Verity Bright
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU