book cover of The Ops Room Girls
Added by 22 of our members

The Ops Room Girls

(2020)
(The first book in the Women's Auxiliary Air Force series)
A novel by

 
 

When Evie’s dreams come crashing down, she’s determined to still make something of herself in these trying times…

It is 1939 and working class Evie Bishop has received a scholarship to study mathematics at Oxford when tragedy turns her life upside down. Evie must seek a new future for herself and, inspired to contribute to the war effort, joins the Women’s Auxiliary Air Force as an Ops Room plotter.

Posted to a fighter station on the Sussex Coast, Evie befriends two other WAAFs – shy, awkward May and flirty, glamorous Jess. Faced with earning the approval of strict officers and finding their way in a male dominated world, the three girls band together to overcome challenges, navigate new romances and keep their pilots safe in the skies.

But the German bombers seem to know more than they should about the base’s operations, and soon Evie, May and Jess are caught up in a world more dangerous than they ever imagined…

This heartwarming, dramatic World War II saga is perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Kate Thompson and Rosie Clarke.

Praise for The Ops Room Girls

‘A fabulous tale of courage, comradeship and romance.’ Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan

‘A lovely book. Vicki Beeby is a saga author to watch.’ Margaret Dickinson, Sunday Times Top Ten bestselling author

'Full of excitement, energy and romance, this story kept me turning the pages eagerly.' Lesley Eames, author of The Brighton Guest House Girls

'An exceptional historical saga about young women forging new paths in an uncertain world at war... rich with historical detail, and a must read for historical fiction fans.' Andie Newton, author of The Girl I Left Behind

'An utter joy to read, from the first page to the last. I would not hesitate to recommend this book to anyone with a liking for strong characters, a taste for danger, and a deeply romantic soul.' Terri Nixon, author of Penhaligon's Gift

‘Entertaining from beginning to end. I can’t recommend it highly enough.’ Gemma Jackson, bestselling author of the Ivy Rose series

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Railway Girls
(Railway Girls, book 1)
Maisie Thomas
thumb
The Picture House Girls
(Picture House Girls, book 1)
Rosie Archer

Used availability for Vicki Beeby's The Ops Room Girls

Paperback Editions

July 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Ops Room Girls: An uplifting and romantic WW2 saga (The Women's Auxiliary Air Force)
Author(s): Vicki Beeby
ISBN: 1-80032-091-4 / 978-1-80032-091-8
Publisher: Canelo Saga
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2020 : Australia Audio CD

Title: The Ops Room Girls: 1
Author(s): Vicki Beeby
ISBN: 1-86750-285-2 / 978-1-86750-285-2 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2020 : Australia Audio CD

Title: The Ops Room Girls: 1
Author(s): Vicki Beeby
ISBN: 1-86750-266-6 / 978-1-86750-266-1 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Ops Room Girls: The Women's Auxiliary Air Force, Book 1
Author(s): Vicki Beeby
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


September 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Ops Room Girls: The Women's Auxiliary Air Force, Book 1
Author(s): Vicki Beeby
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Ops Room Girls: The Women's Auxiliary Air Force, Book 1
Author(s): Vicki Beeby
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Ops Room Girls: The Women's Auxiliary Air Force, Book 1
Author(s): Vicki Beeby
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Ops Room Girls: An uplifting and romantic WW2 saga (The Women's Auxiliary Air Force Book 1)
Author(s): Vicki Beeby
Publisher: Canelo Saga
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU