book cover of Acts of Conscience
Added by 2 members

Acts of Conscience

(The first book in the Starover series)
A novel by

Philip K Dick Award Best Book (nominee)
Starover Series, Book 1: Acts of Conscience

Originally published in 1997 by Warner Aspect.
This new edition contains a map of the planet Green Heaven, along with new essays and appendices.

This is the story of Gaetan du Cheyne, Class 10 Spatial Machinery Mechanic at the great spaceship refit station known as Stardock. Gaetan du Cheyne. No mother, no father, no children, no wife, no friends, no home, no nothing. Just a job. A empty man, a hollow man, paid well enough for his complex skills that, when he's not consuming a steady diet of net porn, he gets to play the stock market. Until, one fine day, he finds himself in possession of a prototype FTL starship, and goes out among the worlds in search of... something. Anything. Maybe only the lost, empty dreams that were all he had as a child, dreams that deserted him as an adult. What he finds, in the end, if you can understand the man, if you can understand his lost dreams, may change you forever, if you're lucky.

Genre: Science Fiction

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for William Barton's Acts of Conscience

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors