book cover of Hugh Glass

Hugh Glass

True Courage and Survival in the West
A non fiction book by

"Win Blevins has long since won his place among the West's very best." - Tony Hillerman.Hugh Glass's story is larger than life. He was a free-spirited man with a will to survive and explore the untamed West that is unrivaled ... Imagine Hugh Glass: Adventurer, Explorer, Pirate with Jean Lafitte, Sailor, Adopted son of a Pawnee chief, and a Mountain Man. He cheated death at least four times. The true story of his life is nothing short of extraordinary.

For true courage, follow the adventures of the mountain men. And hold on to your seats.

Hugh's famous encounter with a grizzly bear is a story of resurrection and forgiveness as much as it is a story of revenge.

Mauled beyond belief by a grizzly bear, he was abandoned by the two men who were left behind to take care of him until he got well, or bury him if he died. But Glass refused to die, and an itchy Fitzgerald pushed the young Jim Bridger into leaving him. Fitzgerald told Bridger that when asked, they were to say they had buried him.

With that they stole his knife, gun, sack of possibles, and left him with nothing to take care of himself should he live.

Glass crawled, rafted, walked, swam, and rode his way through the rivers and territory of the West to find the men who'd deserted him. After he settled that score, he lived another large life exploring the Southwest and her rivers.

If you're ready for the true story of how Glass survived, how revenge kept him alive, and how forgiveness lightened his burden, read The Authentic Story of Hugh Glass.

"Blevins writes a tribute to the courageous, dauntless mountain men who ventured West. Their high adventures are the stuff of legends." - The Los Angeles Times.

Similar books by other authors

Used availability for Win Blevins's Hugh Glass

Kindle Editions

January 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Authentic Story of Hugh Glass: True Courage and Survival in the West (Mountain Man Classics Book 1)
Author(s): Win Blevins
Publisher: Authentic Adventures
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU