book cover of Shadowing the Sun

Shadowing the Sun

(2008)
A novel by

 
 
This is an assured and atmospheric first novel for fans of "Hideous Kinky", about a daughter's relationship with her negligent and self-obsessed father, and how the events of one intense Italian summer changed their lives for ever.It is suitable for readers of Kate Atkinson, Esther Freud, Tessa Hadley, Susan Fletcher.29-year-old Sylvie is about to meet her father again after 13 years apart, to ask him to give her away at her wedding. Although she has a promising career as a photographer and a steady, secure relationship with her fiance Jack, Sylvie feels restless and unsettled and, as she prepares for the reunion with her father, her thoughts turn increasingly to their final, fateful summer together when she was 12, and visiting his commune just outside Florence. The events of that holiday cast their long shadow over her teenage years, and now also threaten her happiness as an adult. In deft and compelling prose, Lily Dunn tells the parallel stories of Sylvie's present and past - the anxious week in London waiting for her father, and the summer in Italy that started so promisingly, but ended with such betrayal and loss of innocence.

Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"A marvellously engrossing, atmospheric and chilling read." - Lesley Glaister


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Lily Dunn's Shadowing the Sun

Paperback Editions

February 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Shadowing The Sun
Author(s): Lily Dunn
ISBN: 1-84627-118-5 / 978-1-84627-118-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Portobello Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2008 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Shadowing the Sun
Author(s): Lily Dunn
ISBN: 1-84627-117-7 / 978-1-84627-117-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Portobello Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK