book cover of Dark Star Rising

Dark Star Rising

(The first book in the Blackwood & Virtue series)
A novel by

The misfit crew of HMSS Daring are on a covert mission to dismantle a sprawling pirate network threatening the empire in this enthralling second Blackwood & Virtue novel - a thrilling, action-packed blend of the military sea adventures of Patrick O'Brian's Master and Commander series with Jim Butcher's sci fi Cinder Spires novels.

Exuberant after scoring a major victory against enemy pirates, the star sailing ship HMSS Daring eagerly embarks on its new mission. Until the pirate network is dismantled and its mysterious leader Dark Star brought to justice, the safety of the empire remains in jeopardy.

Supported by the ship's misfit crew, Subcommander Liam Blackwood and Quartermaster Amelia Virtue go undercover, following leads that take them deep into the pirate network. Yet the closer they get to its center and the elusive Dark Star, the clearer it becomes that all is not what it seems.

Pirates aren't the only danger the duo face. Empowered by imperial decree, an old enemy is murdering noble families and taking their property - an enemy that has a personal grudge against Daring and her crew. And now he is on his way across the galaxy to exact revenge.

Caught between ruthless pirates, a vengeful enemy, and their own increasingly intense feelings, Liam and Amelia must use all their cunning, charm, and daring to get out this alive.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"A blast to read." - Steven Erikson

Paperback Editions

April 2020 : USA Paperback

Title: Dark Star Rising: Blackwood & Virtue
Author(s): Bennett R Coles
ISBN: 0-06-282037-0 / 978-0-06-282037-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

April 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition

Title: Dark Star Rising: Blackwood & Virtue
Author(s): Bennett R Coles
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA