New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Puzzle King

The Puzzle King

(2009)
A novel by

 
 
On a gray morning in 1936, Flora Phelps stands in line at the American consulate in Stuttgart, Germany. She carries a gift for the consul, whom she will bribe in order to help her family get out of Hitler's Germany. This is the story of unlikely heroes, the lively, beautiful Flora and her husband, the brooding, studious Simon, two Jewish immigrants who were each sent to America by their families to find better lives. An improbable match, they meet in New York City and fall in love. Simon--inventor of the jigsaw puzzle--eventually makes his fortune. Now wealthy, but still outsiders, Flora and Simon become obsessed with rescuing the loved ones they left behind in Europe whose fates are determined by growing anti-Semitism on both sides of the Atlantic.

Inspired by her family's legends, Betsy Carter weaves a memorable tale. In the tradition of Suite Francaise or Amy Bloom's Away, she explores a fascinating moment in history and creates a cast of characters who endure with dignity, grace, and hope for the future.

    Get it on Google Play

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Betsy Carter's The Puzzle King

Hardback Editions

February 2010 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Puzzle King (Thorndike Reviewers' Choice)
Author(s): Betsy Carter
ISBN: 1-4104-2256-9 / 978-1-4104-2256-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2009 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Puzzle King
Author(s): Betsy Carter
ISBN: 1-56512-594-0 / 978-1-56512-594-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

November 2010 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Puzzle King
Author(s): Betsy Carter
ISBN: 1-61620-016-2 / 978-1-61620-016-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

November 2010 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Puzzle King
Author(s): Betsy Carter
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA