book cover of 1636: Flight of the Nightingale
Added by 11 of our members

1636: Flight of the Nightingale

(Book 28 in the Ring of Fire series)
A collection of stories by

TWO SHORT NOVELS SET IN ERIC FLINT'S BESTSELLING RING OF FIRE SERIES from David Carrico, co-author of 1636: The Devil's Opera, and The Span of Empire.

Time waits for no one, but for the residents of 17th-century Europe, the future comes calling—ahead of time! Due to a temporal disturbance known as the Ring of Fire, the 20th-century town of Grantville, West Virginia, finds itself transported through time and space to Central Europe in the year 1632. The turmoil resulting from the event has massive repercussions for the up-time citizens of Grantville, the down-time citizens of Europe—and the world at large. Massive political and social upheavals take place. But change happens on a smaller, human scale, too.

In The Flight of the Nightingale, down-timer Francesca Caccini is inspired by the arrival of Grantville to seek a different destiny from what would have been her lot otherwise. And in Bach to the Future, Johann and his brothers commit themselves to preserve, protect, and promote their family's heritage from the future.

Two short novels, set in Eric Flint's bestselling Ring of Fire series, that shine a light on the overlooked corners of the Ring of Fire universe, where small actions can have life-altering consequences.

At the publisher's request, this title is sold without DRM (Digital Rights Management).

About 1636: The Devil's Opera, by Eric Flint and David Carrico:

“Another engaging alternate history from a master of the genre.”—Booklist

“. . . an old-style police-procedural mystery, set in 17th century Germany. . . . the threads . . . spin together . . . to weave an addictively entertaining story. . . . a strong addition to a fun series.”—The Galveston County Daily News

David Carrico made his first professional SF sale to The Grantville Gazette e-magazine in 2004. His stories have also appeared in the Grantville Gazette and Ring of Fire anthologies from Baen Books and in Jim Baen's Universe e-magazine. Baen Books has published an ebook story collection by David entitled 1635: Music and Murder, and two novels written in collaboration with Eric Flint: 1636: The Devil's Opera, and The Span of Empire, which was nominated for the 2017 Dragon Award for Best Military SF or Fantasy novel. David is currently working on a solo project.

Genre: Science Fiction

Similar books by other authors

Used availability for David Carrico's 1636: Flight of the Nightingale

Paperback Editions

November 2020 : Mass Market Paperback

Title: 1636: Flight of the Nightingale, 28
Author(s): David Carrico
ISBN: 1-982125-06-3 / 978-1-982125-06-6
Publisher: Baen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

November 2019 : Paperback

Title: 1636: Flight of the Nightingale: 28 (Ring of Fire)
Author(s): David Carrico
ISBN: 1-982124-18-0 / 978-1-982124-18-2
Publisher: BAEN BOOKS
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

November 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: 1636: The Flight of the Nightingale (Ring of Fire Book 28)
Author(s): David Carrico
Publisher: Baen Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU