New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of What\'s Become of Her

What's Become of Her

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
From National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti comes an emotionally riveting story of a woman falling for a man who may be hiding a dangerous secret--perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah.

"Guilty people keep secrets."

Isabelle Austen returns to her hometown on a small, isolated Pacific Northwest island to take over the family tourism business after the death of her mother, a disapproving parent and a hard woman to love. Feeling lost, Isabelle is also struggling with a recent divorce and wondering if she'll ever come into her own. Then her life takes a surprising turn: The mysterious Henry North arrives on Parrish Island, steps off a seaplane, and changes Isabelle's world forever. From the beginning, their relationship is heady and intense--then Isabelle learns of Henry's disturbing past, involving the death of a fiancee and the disappearance of a wife. Suddenly Isabelle is caught between love and suspicion, paranoia and passion, as she searches for the truth she may not want to find--and is swept into a dangerous game she may not survive.

Praise for What's Become of Her

"A darkly enchanting romance sinks into a thrilling cat-and-mouse game."--Kirkus Reviews

"Caletti elevates reader discomfort to the maximum in this nuanced suspense novel. . . . The plot builds to a surprising and well-developed conclusion."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"As Caletti combines literary fiction with suspense, she keeps readers guessing until the last page."--Booklist

"This is a lush, suspenseful read set in a sleepy seaside town, with both main characters using the locale (and each other) as a means to escape. Caletti's strengths are all on display: the novel is carefully paced, the prose excellent, and the characters (and their ghosts and demons) are realistic and strikingly drawn. Each person's motivations and reliability as a narrator are weighed and considered over the course of the novel, with expectations upended and reevaluated constantly. The build to the climax is relentless, tense and satisfying."--RT Book Reviews

"This is a fast-paced read, with exceptional moments of suspense."--The Book Review

Praise for the novels of Deb Caletti

"Striking . . . well-written, strongly characterized and emotionally complex fiction."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review), on He's Gone

"Caletti once again combines interesting characters, pitch-perfect dialogue, and an intriguing plot to tell a deeply memorable story. Her latest is a thoughtful exploration of love and marriage and the power of family and friendship to help along the way."--Booklist, on The Secrets She Keeps

Genre: Romantic Suspense    


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Deb Caletti's What's Become of Her

Hardback Editions

September 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: What's Become of Her (Wheeler Publishing Large Print Hardcover)
Author(s): Deb Caletti
ISBN: 1-4328-4239-0 / 978-1-4328-4239-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Wheeler Publishing Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

April 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: What's Become of Her: A Novel
Author(s): Deb Caletti
ISBN: 1-101-88426-6 / 978-1-101-88426-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2017 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: What's Become of Her: A Novel
Author(s): Deb Caletti
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA