book cover of Broken Faces
Added by 3 of our members

Broken Faces

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
It’s 1914 and Lady Alexandra Baldwyn is stifled by her claustrophobic life of privilege at Somerton Hall. Desperate to be more than a debutante, she strives for excitement like her brother Charles and his best friend, Freddie Chevalier. She pleads with her parents to let her become a nurse in France, but when her father refuses to sign the papers allowing her to leave the country she must be content with driving ambulances in London and delivering the occasional supply lorry along the south coast. What she has yet to learn is that there is little glory in war. Freddie Chevalier is secretly in love with his best-friend’s fiancée, Meri. When Meri discovers that Charles has been unfaithful to her, she visits Freddie’s home in Jersey. The two become close and promise to keep what has happened between them a secret. It’s only when the two men are fighting for survival in the trenches of Northern France that Charles discovers their betrayal. Spanning the 1914-18 war Broken Faces is about four friends, their fight for survival and how love can triumph over adversity in the most unexpected way. Praise for Deborah Carr's Broken Faces One to Watch. GOOD HOUSEKEEPING MAGAZINE Spent most of my weekend quite mesmerized by this lovely book. Top 500 Reviewer Vine Voice Fans of Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will enjoy. Bookmad A spectacularly powerful book. Brook Cottage Books

Genre: Historical Romance

Used availability for Deborah Carr's Broken Faces

Paperback Editions

August 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Broken Faces
Author(s): Deborah Carr
ISBN: 0-9927865-7-6 / 978-0-9927865-7-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Green Shutter Books Limited
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Broken Faces
Author(s): Deborah Carr
ISBN: 0-9927865-6-8 / 978-0-9927865-6-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Green Shutter Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Broken Faces
Author(s): Deborah Carr
Publisher: Tantor and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


September 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Broken Faces Lib/E
Author(s): Deborah Carr
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Broken Faces
Author(s): Deborah Carr
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Broken Faces
Author(s): Deborah Carr
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Broken Faces
Author(s): Deborah Carr
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Broken Faces
Author(s): Deborah Carr
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon UK