New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

Player One

Player One

(2010)
What Is to Become of Us
A novel by

 
Set in an airport cocktail lounge during five hours of a global disaster, Coupland's latest work asks readers: At what point do humans stop being human and become something else? Where, if anywhere, do modernity and classical theology overlap? What is time? What is the human essence? And how does storytelling fit into all of this? In the tradition of Vonnegut and J. G.? Ballard, Coupland locates his story and characters in an extreme situation and then pushes the implications as far as possible. Are we ants or are we divine? And where can we now locate meaning? The book asks as many questions as it answers, and readers will leave the book with no doubt that we are in a new phase of existence as a species - and that there is no turning back.

 
Similar Books by other authors...


Crash
J G Ballard

Cranford
Elizabeth Gaskell

The Cellist of Sarajevo
Steven Galloway

A Visit from the Goon Squad
Jennifer Egan
 
Used availability for Douglas Coupland's Player One


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

October 2010 : UK Hardback
Title: Player One
Author(s): Douglas Coupland
ISBN: 0-434-02104-0 / 978-0-434-02104-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: William Heinemann
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

September 2011 : UK Paperback
Title: Player One
Author(s): Douglas Coupland
ISBN: 0-09-953819-9 / 978-0-09-953819-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Windmill Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

January 2011 : UK Paperback
Title: Player One
Author(s): Douglas Coupland
ISBN: 0-09-953818-0 / 978-0-09-953818-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Windmill Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2010 : UK Paperback
Title: Player One
Author(s): Douglas Coupland
ISBN: 0-434-02105-9 / 978-0-434-02105-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: William Heinemann Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

October 2010 : Canada Paperback
Title: Player One: What Is to Become of Us (CBC Massey Lecture)
Author(s): Douglas Coupland
ISBN: 0-88784-968-7 / 978-0-88784-968-8 (Canada edition)
Publisher: House of Anansi Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

September 2010 : Canada Paperback
Title: Player One
Author(s): Douglas Coupland
ISBN: 0-88784-972-5 / 978-0-88784-972-5 (Canada edition)
Publisher: House of Anansi Press
Availability: Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

October 2010 : UK Kindle edition
Title: Player One
Author(s): Douglas Coupland
Publisher: Cornerstone Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   

September 2010 : Canada Kindle edition
Title: Player One: What is to Become of Us (CBC Massey Lectures)
Author(s): Douglas Coupland
Publisher: House of Anansi Press
Availability: Amazon CA   



Search for