David Bergen's picture
11 books added

David Bergen

Canada (b.1957)

Born in Port Edward, British Columbia, author David Bergen worked as a writer and high school English teacher in Winnipeg, Manitoba, before gaining a great deal of recognition in Canada when his novel The Time In Between won the 2005 Scotiabank Giller Prize, one of Canada's most prestigious literary awards. The novel also received a starred review in Kirkus Reviews and was longlisted for the 2007 IMPAC Award.

Bergen's debut novel, A Year of Lesser, was a New York Times Notable Book, and a winner of the McNally Robinson Book of the Year award in 1997. His 2002 novel The Case of Lena S. was a finalist for the Governor General's Award for English language fiction, and won the Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award. It was also a finalist for the McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award and the Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction.

Additionally, Bergen has received the 1993 John Hirsch Award for Most Promising Manitoba Writer, and the 2000 Canadian Literary Award for Short Story.

In 2008, he published his fifth novel, The Retreat, which was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, and which won the McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award and the Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction.

Bergen currently resides in Winnipeg, Manitoba with his family.

Genres: Literary Fiction, General Fiction
   A Year of Lesser (1997)
   See the Child (1999)
   The Case of Lena S (2002)
   The Time in Between (2005)
   The Retreat (2008)
   The Matter with Morris (2010)
   The Age of Hope (2012)
   Leaving Tomorrow (2014)
   Stranger (2016)
   Out of Mind (2021)
   Away from the Dead (2023)
David Bergen recommends
Strange Labour (2020)
Robert G Penner
"What a vision this novel has. It is at once startling, smart, dark, and full of ache and humour. An amazingly spot-on evocation of our times. I cannot help but use the novel's last line to say that it made me 'inexpressibly, unaccountably happy.' Brilliant."
Falling (2008)
Anne Simpson
"This is a tender and wise novel; a remarkable story of love lost, and then found."

Award nominations
2012 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award (nominee) : The Matter with Morris

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors