New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    

The Girls

(2016)
A novel by

 

"Emma Cline has an unparalleled eye for the intricacies of girlhood, turning the stuff of myth into something altogether more intimate. She reminds us that behind so many of our culture’s fables exists a girl: unseen, unheard, angry. This book will break your heart and blow your mind."
Lena Dunham


"Emma Cline’s first novel positively hums with fresh, startling, luminous prose. The Girls announces the arrival of a thrilling new voice in American fiction."
Jennifer Egan


"The Girls is a brilliant and intensely consuming novel - imposing not just for a writer so young, but for any writer, any time."
Richard Ford


"I don’t know which is more amazing, Emma Cline’s understanding of human beings or her mastery of language."
Mark Haddon


NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER . An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong - this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST AND NPR

Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged - a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence.

Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction.

Praise for The Girls

"Spellbinding . . . A seductive and arresting coming-of-age story hinged on Charles Manson, told in sentences at times so finely wrought they could almost be worn as jewelry . . . [Emma] Cline gorgeously maps the topography of one loneliness-ravaged adolescent heart. She gives us the fictional truth of a girl chasing danger beyond her comprehension, in a Summer of Longing and Loss." - The New York Times Book Review

"[The Girls reimagines] the American novel . . . Like Mary Gaitskill's Veronica or Lorrie Moore's Who Will Run the Frog Hospital?,The Girls captures a defining friendship in its full humanity with a touch of rock-memoir, tell-it-like-it-really-was attitude." - Vogue

"Debut novels like this are rare, indeed. . . . The most remarkable quality of this novel is Cline's ability to articulate the anxieties of adolescence in language that's gorgeously poetic without mangling the authenticity of a teenager's consciousness. The adult's melancholy reflection and the girl's swelling impetuousness are flawlessly braided together. . . . For a story that traffics in the lurid notoriety of the Manson murders, The Girls is an extraordinary act of restraint. With the maturity of a writer twice her age, Cline has written a wise novel that's never showy: a quiet, seething confession of yearning and terror." - The Washington Post

"Emma Cline has an unparalleled eye for the intricacies of girlhood, turning the stuff of myth into something altogether more intimate. She reminds us that behind so many of our culture's fables exists a girl: unseen, unheard, angry. This book will break your heart and blow your mind." - Lena Dunham

"Emma Cline's first novel positively hums with fresh, startling, luminous prose. The Girls announces the arrival of a thrilling new voice in American fiction." - Jennifer Egan

"I don't know which is more amazing, Emma Cline's understanding of human beings or her mastery of language." - Mark Haddon, New York Times bestselling author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Genre: Historical
 
Similar Books by other authors...


The Nest
Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

The Thousandth Floor
Katharine McGee

The Kept Woman
(Will Trent, book 8)

Karin Slaughter

Fates and Furies
Lauren Groff
 
Used availability for Emma Cline's The Girls


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

June 2016 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: The Girls
Author(s): Emma Cline
ISBN: 1-78474-044-6 / 978-1-78474-044-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Chatto & Windus
Availability: Amazon UK   

June 2016 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: The Girls
Author(s): Emma Cline
ISBN: 0-8129-9860-X / 978-0-8129-9860-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

May 2017 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Emma Cline
ISBN: 0-8129-8802-7 / 978-0-8129-8802-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

May 2017 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Girls
Author(s): Emma Cline
ISBN: 1-78470-174-2 / 978-1-78470-174-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon UK   

May 2017 : USA Paperback
Title: The Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Emma Cline
ISBN: 0-399-59174-5 / 978-0-399-59174-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Lcc Us
Availability: Amazon UK   

1994 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Girls
Author(s): Elaine Kagan
ISBN: 0-8129-8986-4 / 978-0-8129-8986-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

June 2016 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Girls
Author(s): Emma Cline
ISBN: 1-78474-045-4 / 978-1-78474-045-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Chatto & Windus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

June 2016 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Girls: A Novel (Random House Large Print)
Author(s): Emma Cline
ISBN: 0-7352-0818-2 / 978-0-7352-0818-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

July 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Girls
Author(s): Emma Cline
Publisher: HorbucHHamburg HHV GmbH
Availability: Amazon   

June 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Girls
Author(s): Emma Cline
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   

June 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Girls
Author(s): Emma Cline
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   

June 2016 : UK Audio CD
thumbTitle: The Girls
Author(s): Emma Cline
ISBN: 0-14-752399-0 / 978-0-14-752399-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Random House Audio Publishing Group
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

June 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Emma Cline
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   

Kindle Editions

June 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Girls
Author(s): Emma Cline
Publisher: Vintage Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   

June 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Emma Cline
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Search for