New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Richard Ford's picture

Richard Ford

USA flag (1944 - )

Richard Ford is a Pulitzer Prize-winning American novelist and short story writer. His best-known works are the novel The Sportswriter and its sequels, Independence Day and The Lay of the Land, and the widely anthologized story collection Rock Springs.

Ford lived for many years in the French Quarter and then in the Garden District of New Orleans, Louisiana, where his wife Kristina was the executive director of the city planning commission. He now lives in Maine where he teaches at Bowdoin College.


Series contributed to
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
PEN/Faulkner Award for fiction Best Book nominee (1987) : The Sportswriter
PEN/Faulkner Award for fiction Best Book winner (1996) : Independence Day
Pulitzer Prize for Fiction Best Book winner (1996) : Independence Day
Pulitzer Prize for Fiction Best Book nominee (2015) : Let Me Be Frank With You

Richard Ford recommends
Dream State
Dream State (1995)
Moira Crone
"These are intelligent, satisfying, and often extremely witty stories."
Storm Riders
Storm Riders (2000)
Craig Lesley
"Storm Riders is an exacting, serious and generous novel. Its great virtue is that it's wise as well as clear-sighted in its faith in human beings. As I read I continually felt (as I rarely do) that this book could be about me."

Great Dream of Heaven (2002)
Sam Shepard
"These stories are irresistible."
A Student of Living Things
A Student of Living Things (2006)
Susan Shreve
"Stylish and sleek and tightly configured... steeped in our incongruities and potent mysteries - most especially those of the heart."

Cryers Hill (2007)
Kitty Aldridge
"Mercurial, deft and wondrous in its sentences and uncanny descriptions. Grave, knowing, melancholy, often extremely funny and ultimately optimistic."

February (2010)
Lisa Moore
"An astonishing writer."

The Girls (2016)
Emma Cline
"The Girls is a brilliant and intensely consuming novel - imposing not just for a writer so young, but for any writer, any time."

Larchfield (2017)
Polly Clark
"Larchfield is that rarest of rare first novels - a book that actually achieves its great ambition. I found it so immensely readable; it's brainy, verbally acute and knowing, with an ingenious literary historical premise that it impressively (and artfully) carries off right in front of your eyes. It's work of considerable talent."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors

Search for