book cover of Moments of Light

Moments of Light

A collection of stories by

Moments of Light proves that the mythic powers of the balladeer and the story teller survive even in this fragmented and unmysterious day. In the eleven stories gathered here, Fred Chappell engages and entertains our minds and sends us away singing in our hearts, more knowing, more understanding of ourselves.

Monents of Light reflects the moral nature of man throughout history. In the first story, "The Three Boxes," Chappell writes, as only a poet or a philosopher would, "The lone man was alone"; with that he begins at once to sound the major themes of the book from the creation throught the mostly innocent vision of the Enlightenment to this dark and wearisome time when Stovebolt Johnson, the balladeer in "Blue Dive", works a tavern for beers. The title story points up the end of man's intellectual innocence and the shortcomings of reason alone as the composer Haydn peers through a telescope at the fearsome beauty of the universe and sees dread and hope alike reborn.

Fred Chappell is the Poet Laureate of North Carolina. He was born in Canton, North Carolina. He attended Duke University. He has received grants from the Rockefeller Foundation and the National Institute of Arts and Letters. A professor at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, he resides in Greensboro with his wife Susan.

He is known for his novels, some of which are It's Time, Lord; The Inkling; The Gaudy Place; I Am One of You Forever, and his collections of short stories. Of those, his first story collection Moments of Light is available through Boson Books. Some of Chappell's books of poetry are: The World Between the Eyes, River, Bloodfire, and Wind Mountain.

Genre: Mystery

Used availability for Fred Chappell's Moments of Light

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors