New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Fred Chappell's picture

Fred Chappell

(Fred Davis Chappell)
USA (1936 - )

Fred Chappell is the author of a dozen books of verse, two story collections, and eight novels. A native of Canton in the mountains of western North Carolina, he has taught at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro since 1964. He is the winner of, among other awards, the Bollingen Prize in Poetry, Aiken Taylor Prize, T. S. Eliot Prize, and Roanoke-Chowan Poetry Prize seven times over.
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Fred Chappell

Short stories
Duet (1975)
Linnaeus Forgets (1977)
Ladies from Lapland (1981)
Miss Prue (1981)
The Snow that Is Nothing in the Triangle (1981)
Barcarole (1984)
Weird Tales (1984)
After Revelation (1985)
Alma (1988)
The Adder (1989)
Ember (1990)
Free Hand (1990)
The Better Boy (1991)World Fantasy (nominee)
Mankind Journeys Through Forests of Symbols (1991)
The Somewhere Doors (1991)World Fantasy
The Lodger [short story] (1993)World Fantasy
The Flame (1995)

World Fantasy Best Short Story nominee (1992) : The Better Boy
World Fantasy Best Collection nominee (1992) : More Shapes Than One
World Fantasy Best Short Story winner (1992) : The Somewhere Doors
World Fantasy Best Short Story winner (1994) : The Lodger [short story]

Search for