book cover of Competence
Added by 15 of our members

Competence

(2018)
(The third book in the Custard Protocol series)
A novel by

 
 
From New York Times bestselling author Gail Carriger comes the delightful sequel to Imprudence.

ACCIDENTALLY ABANDONED!

All alone in Singapore, proper Miss Primrose Tunstell must steal helium to save her dirigible, in a scheme involving a lovesick werecat and a fake fish tail.

When she uncovers rumors of a new kind of vampire, Prim and the Spotted Custard crew head to foreign climes only to be thwarted by airship pirates and strange atmospheric phenomena.

Forced into extreme subterfuge (and some rather ridiculous outfits) Prim must also answer three of life's most challenging questions:

    Can the perfect book club give a man back his soul?
    Will her brother ever stop wearing his idiotic velvet fez?
    And can the amount of lard in Christmas pudding save an entire species?

"Carriger excels at wry humor and clever phrasing, and her ensemble cast is thoroughly charming and satisfyingly diverse." ~ Publishers Weekly

This is basically A Discovery of Witches meet Emma Donoghue. The Custard Protocol series is perfect for fans of Becca Andre or Genevieve Cogman full of found family, steampunk adventure, and funny victorian canoodling. If you want more lesbian romance from Gail Carriger try Romancing the Inventor.

Delicate Sensibilities?

This paranormal adventure contains women pleasing women and ladies who are also lionesses and know what they want and pursue it, sometimes in exquisitely deadly detail. (The tassels are going down.)


The Custard Protocol Series

    Prudence
    Imprudence
    Competence
    Reticence


Also by Gail Carriger set in the Parasolverse

    The Finishing School series (start with Etiquette & Espionage)

    The Delightfully Deadly novellas

    The Parasol Protectorate series (start with Soulless)

    The Supernatural Society novellas

    The Claw & Courtship novellas


As G L Carriger

    The San Andreas Shifter series (start with The Sumage Solution)

    The 5th Gender


Genre: Urban Fantasy

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Brief Cases
(Stories From the Dresden Files)
Jim Butcher
thumb
Stone Mad
(Karen Memory, book 2)
Elizabeth Bear
thumb
The 5th Gender
(Tinkered Stars Mystery)
G L Carriger

Used availability for Gail Carriger's Competence

Hardback Editions

July 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Competence (Custard Protocol)
Author(s): Gail Carriger
ISBN: 0-316-43388-8 / 978-0-316-43388-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Competence (Custard Protocol)
Author(s): Gail Carriger
ISBN: 0-316-43385-3 / 978-0-316-43385-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Competence: Custard Protocol
Author(s): Gail Carriger
ISBN: 1-944751-13-0 / 978-1-944751-13-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: GAIL CARRIGER LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

July 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Competence (Custard Protocol)
Author(s): Gail Carriger
ISBN: 1-5491-6908-4 / 978-1-5491-6908-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Competence: Library Edition (Custard Protocol)
Author(s): Gail Carriger
ISBN: 1-5491-4451-0 / 978-1-5491-4451-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Competence: Custard Protocol, Book 3
Author(s): Gail Carriger
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Competence: Custard Protocol, Book 3
Author(s): Gail Carriger
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Competence: Custard Protocol, Book 3
Author(s): Gail Carriger
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Competence (Custard Protocol Book 3)
Author(s): Gail Carriger
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Competence: Custard Protocol
Author(s): Gail Carriger
Publisher: GAIL CARRIGER LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU