book cover of The Nurse
Added by 37 of our members
 

The Nurse

(2021)
A novel by

 
 

When you hear her story, will you believe her?

Rose Marlowe is a hard-working nurse, a loving wife, and a merciless killer. Or so she says. Despite her confession, it is hard to believe that this beautiful, kind woman could have killed her vulnerable patient in cold blood.

Down-on-his-luck true crime author, Theo Hazel, is convinced that there’s more to what happened than Rose is telling, and so decides to visit her behind bars to write her story. His first surprise comes when Rose reveals that the victim was not a stranger to her.

As time goes on, it seems that Rose is letting Theo see behind her perfect mask. With each new visit, he learns terrible new things about her heart-breaking past. With each new visit, he becomes more and more convinced that she can’t be a killer. But is he trying to free an innocent woman, or falling prey to a calculating murderer?

A gripping and unputdownable thriller that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient, Shari Lapena and JP Delaney.

What everyone is saying about The Nurse:

‘A visceral and intelligent psychological suspense, which will stay with you long after the final page' S.E. Lynes

The Nurse is haunting, spine-tingling, edge-of-your-seat reading! A must-read for fans of dark and twisty psychological thrillers!’ Noelle Holten

I was captivated by Rose's story. The escalating unease kept me on the edge of my seat, and the twist at the end took my breath away!’ Jane Isaac

What readers are saying about J. A. Corrigan:

‘Perfectly paced… I raced through this book in record time! The storyline was OMFG, brilliant! Dark, twisted and unlike any I have come across – just when I had figured something out – BOOM! – the author threw something else in to mess up my head!’ CrimeBookJunkie, 5 stars

Gut-wrenching stuff… I’ll even admit to tears.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Exceptionalcompletely enthralling… Addictively compelling reading, my eyes were superglued to every single page until the last word was read.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘A lean, mean psychological thriller… Corrigan displays a touch as sharp and precise as a surgeon’s knife. Quite, quite wonderful. I loved it.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Stunning… Bold, visceral and intelligent, with not one word wasted.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘Beautifully written, intelligent, and compassionate, with an unforgettable central characterOutstanding.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Filled with intriguing characters and surprising twists." - M M Deluca

"Clever and intriguing." - Emma Haughton

"An easy five-star read for me!" - J M Hewitt

"Haunting, spine-tingling, edge-of-your-seat reading!" - Noelle Holten

"Took my breath away!" - Jane Isaac

"Utterly compelling and absorbing." - Jo Jakeman

"Took me completely by surprise!" - Karen King

"Thrilling and chilling." - Margaret Kirk

"Will stay with you long after the final page." - S E Lynes

"A clever, pitch-perfect read." - Jenny O'Brien

"Didn’t want it to end… Really packs a punch." - Amanda Robson


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for J A Corrigan's The Nurse

Paperback Editions

May 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Nurse: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist
Author(s): J A Corrigan
ISBN: 1-80032-375-1 / 978-1-80032-375-9
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Nurse: A Gripping Psychological Thriller with a Shocking Twist
Author(s): J A Corrigan
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon   


September 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Nurse: A Gripping Psychological Thriller with a Shocking Twist
Author(s): J A Corrigan
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Nurse: A Gripping Psychological Thriller with a Shocking Twist
Author(s): J A Corrigan
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Nurse: A Gripping Psychological Thriller with a Shocking Twist
Author(s): J A Corrigan
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Nurse: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist
Author(s): J A Corrigan
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU