book cover of The Saxon Spears

The Saxon Spears

(2019)
(The first book in the Song of Ash series)
A novel by

 
 
PREORDER NOW: THE BLOOD OF THE IUTES, BOOK 1 OF THE SONG OF OCTA - SEQUEL TO THE SONG OF ASH

- #1 Bestseller in Norse Historical Fiction in UK, Canada and Australia! -

The old world is burning
A hero will rise from its ASH.

Thirty years passed since Britannia voted to throw off the Roman yoke. Now, the old world crumbles. Pirates roam the seas, bandits threaten the highways, and barbarian refugees from the East arrive on Britannia's shores, uninvited. The rich profit from the chaos, while the poor suffer. A new Dark Age is approaching - but all is not lost.

Ash is a Seaborn, a Saxon child found on the beach with nothing but a precious stone at his neck and a memory of a distant war from which his people have fled. Raised on the estate of a Briton nobleman, trained in warfare and ancient knowledge, he soon becomes embroiled in the machinations and intrigues at the court of Wortigern, the Dux of Londinium, a struggle that is about to determine the future of all Britannia. 
A child of Saxon blood, an heir to Roman family, his is a destiny like no other: to join the two races and forge a new world from the ruins of the old.

                                     ◆◆◆

"In The Saxon Spears James Calbraith gives us a fast-paced, immediate, raw look into the dark times of the fifth century. (...) James Calbraith's Ash is a sympathetic protagonist, full of mystery and a yearning to discover the secrets of his past and the truth of his destiny. The Saxon Spears is a great read." - MATTHEW HARFFY, author of Bernicia Chronicles

★★★★★ "Rich, detailed writing and compelling characters." - Jessica BelmontJessica Belmont

★★★★★ "A truly intriguing and impressive start to a new series." - Liberty IrelandHistorical Graffiti

★★★★ "A fine beginning indeed to what promises to be an exciting series." - Paul BennettHoover Book Reviews

                                     ◆◆◆

The Saxon Spears is the first volume of the Song of Ash, a fast-paced, gripping historical fiction saga, perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell's "The Last Kingdom" series, Matthew Harffy and Conn Iggulden. 

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"In The Saxon Spears James Calbraith gives us a fast-paced, immediate, raw look into the dark times of the fifth century. (...) James Calbraith's Ash is a sympathetic protagonist, full of mystery and a yearning to discover the secrets of his past and the truth of his destiny. The Saxon Spears is a great read." - Matthew Harffy


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Forged By Iron
(Olaf's Saga, book 1)
Eric Schumacher
thumb
Fortress of Fury
(Bernicia Chronicles, book 7)
Matthew Harffy
thumb
Lord Edward's Archer
(Lord Edward's Archer, book 1)
Griff Hosker
thumb
Wolf's Head
(Forest Lord, book 1)
Steven A McKay

Used availability for James Calbraith's The Saxon Spears

Paperback Editions

February 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Saxon Spears: an epic of the Dark Age
Author(s): James Calbraith
ISBN: 8393932165 / 978-8393932160
Publisher: Flying Squid
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Saxon Spears: a novel of the Dark Ages (The Song of Ash)
Author(s): James Calbraith
ISBN: 1-67009-334-4 / 978-1-67009-334-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

December 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Saxon Spears: The Song of Ash Book 1 (The Song of Britain)
Author(s): James Calbraith
Publisher: Flying Squid
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU