New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

The Yellow Back

(2005)
A novel by

 
This early work by James Oliver Curwood was originally published in 1920 and we are now republishing it with a brand new introductory biography. "The Yellow-Back," is another of Curwood's short stories filled with suspense, mystery and a little justice. James Oliver 'Jim' Curwood was an American action-adventure writer and conservationist. He was born on 12th June, 1878, in Owosso, Michigan, USA. In 1900, Curwood sold his first story while working for the Detroit News-Tribune, and after this, his career in writing was made. By 1909 he had saved enough money to travel to the Canadian northwest, a trip that provided the inspiration for his wilderness adventure stories. The success of his novels afforded him the opportunity to return to the Yukon and Alaska for several months each year - allowing Curwood to write more than thirty such books. Curwood's adventure writing followed in the tradition of Jack London. Like London, Curwood set many of his works in the wilds of the Great Northwest and often used animals as lead characters (Kazan, Baree; Son of Kazan, The Grizzly King and Nomads of the North). Many of Curwood's adventure novels also feature romance as primary or secondary plot consideration. This approach gave his work broad commercial appeal and helped drive his appearance on several best-seller lists in the early 1920s. His most successful work was his 1920 novel, The River's End. The book sold more than 100,000 copies and was the fourth best-selling title of the year in the United States, according to Publisher's Weekly. He contributed to various literary and popular magazines throughout his career, and his bibliography includes more than 200 such articles, short stories and serializations. Curwood was an avid hunter in his youth; however, as he grew older, he became an advocate of environmentalism and was appointed to the 'Michigan Conservation Commission' in 1926. The change in his attitude toward wildlife can be best expressed by a quote he gave in The Grizzly King: that 'The greatest thrill is not to kill but to let live.' Despite this change in attitude, Curwood did not have an ultimately fruitful relationship with nature. In 1927, while on a fishing trip in Florida, Curwood was bitten on the thigh by what was believed to have been a spider and he had an immediate allergic reaction. Health problems related to the bite escalated over the next few months as an infection set in. He died soon after in his nearby home on Williams Street, on 13th August 1927. He was aged just forty-nine, and was interred in Oak Hill Cemetery (Owosso), in a family plot. Curwood's legacy lives on however, and his home of Curwood Castle is now a museum.

 
Used availability for James Oliver Curwood's The Yellow Back


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

September 2010 : USA Hardback
Title: The Yellow Back
Author(s): James Oliver Curwood
ISBN: 1-168-65211-1 / 978-1-168-65211-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kessinger Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

May 2010 : USA Hardback
Title: The Yellow Back
Author(s): James Oliver Curwood
ISBN: 1-161-55705-9 / 978-1-161-55705-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kessinger Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

February 2015 : UK Paperback
Title: The Yellow-Back
Author(s): James Oliver Curwood
ISBN: 1-4733-2585-4 / 978-1-4733-2585-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: White Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

September 2010 : USA Paperback
Title: The Yellow Back
Author(s): James Oliver Curwood
ISBN: 1-162-86826-0 / 978-1-162-86826-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kessinger Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

December 2005 : USA Paperback
Title: The Yellow Back
Author(s): James Oliver Curwood
ISBN: 1-4254-7795-X / 978-1-4254-7795-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kessinger Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

July 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: The Yellow-Back
Author(s): James Oliver Curwood
Publisher: White Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for