New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

Fear Stalks the Bayou

(1976)
A novel by

 

A Truth hidden deep in the dark...



Eileen Winton travels to sultry New Orleans to comfort her recently widowed friend, Roxane Petry, now mistress of the lavish Hesperus-Seven Oaks. Overwhelmed with grief at the mysterious apparent suicide of her husband, Roxane begs Eileen to stay.

Reluctantly agreeing, Eileen meets Roxane's family. Claire is the dowager grandmother bred in the old Southern style always accompanied by Lucrece, Claire's faithful companion steeped in Creole tradition. Also heavily involved in the affairs of Hesperus-Seven Oaks are Roxane's two brothers-in-law: Dave, the wild and caustic sportsman, and Bart, the financier that holds his emotions close.

As Eileen settles into life at Hesperus-Seven Oaks, she discovers that many forces are at work.

They are trying to control Roxane.

Eileen must intervene to try and help her friend through her grief and stave off those who would take advantage of her at this time.

Nagging at the back of Eileen's mind, however, is the hysterical protest Roxane made at the funeral that her husband Jim did not kill himself. Surrounded by the mysterious voodoo traditions of New Orleans, she begins to suspect that there may have been more to Jim's death than meets the eye.

All the while Eileen's Yankee ways are clashing with the old bred Southern ways that surround Hesperus-Seven Oaks. As she tries to navigate old feuds and protect her friend, will she be able to uncover buried truths?

Set in the mystical New Orleans, Fear Stalks the Bayou is a thrilling mystery steeped in the tradition of the horror novel. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Simon Clark.

Praise for Juanita Coulson:



"... A richly detailed construction... " C J Cherryh

"Coulson works on an enormous canvas - sometimes almost overwhelming. The characters are always memorable." Marion Zimmer Bradley

Juanita Coulson is an American science fiction and fantasy writer. She is also widely known in filk music circles since the 1950s for her singing and songwriting; she has won several Pegasus Awards for her filking. For thirty-three years, she co-edited the science fiction fanzine Yandro with her husband "Buck" (Robert Coulson). Yandro was nominated for a Hugo Award every year from 1958-1967; it won the award in 1965, thus marking Coulson as one of the very first women to be so honored.

Venture Press is a science fiction and fantasy imprint of Endeavour Press, the UK's leading independent digital publisher. We are committed to the discovery and rediscovery of immensely talented authors in the SFF genre, and continue to push boundaries in search of great literature. Join us as we venture across universes and unknown landscapes - past, present and future.

Sign up to our newsletter: http://bit.ly/1LUVI4n
Follow us on Twitter @venture_press
Facebook: http://on.fb.me/1NnFow7


 
Similar Books by other authors...

 
Used availability for Juanita Coulson's Fear Stalks the Bayou


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

1976 : USA Hardback
Title: Fear Stalks the Bayou (A Zodiac gothic : Aries)
Author(s): Juanita Coulson
ISBN: 0-89340-009-2 / 978-0-89340-009-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: John Curley & Associates
Availability: Amazon   

Paperback Editions

March 1976 : USA Mass Market Paperback
Title: Fear Stalks the Bayou (The Zodiac Gothic Series: Aries)
Author(s): Juanita Coulson
ISBN: 0-345-24909-7 / 978-0-345-24909-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

December 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Fear Stalks The Bayou
Author(s): Juanita Coulson
Publisher: Venture Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for