book cover of Date with Betrayal
Added by 96 members
 

Date with Betrayal

(2022)
(The seventh book in the Dales Detective Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
In the seventh novel in Julia Chapman’s Dales Detective series, Date with Betrayal, betrayal is rife in the idyllic Yorkshire Dales as Samson O���Brien, owner of the Dales Detective Agency, is targeted by a hitman. Can Bruncliffe save him? A brilliantly engaging and witty mystery, perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s The Thursday Murder Club and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin series.

Death is coming to Bruncliffe: its target is Samson O’Brien.

Oblivious to his impending date with fate, Samson is busy juggling a number of cases at the Dales Detective Agency. Too busy, in fact, to notice his partner behaving oddly.

Because Delilah Metcalfe knows what is coming. A hitman. Sent from London with one objective: to finally silence the troublesome O’Brien before his corruption case can make it to court.

With Samson’s life in peril, and betrayal around every corner, Delilah has no choice but to call in favours from all of her Bruncliffe connections in order to counteract the menace threatening to engulf the Dales town.

The only trouble is the townsfolk have long memories and deep grievances when it comes to Samson O’Brien. Trust must be earned and they will take some convincing before they put themselves in danger in order to save him.

And even then, it might not prove enough . . .

Full of charm, wit and characters that will capture your heart, the series begins with Date With Death. Have you read them all?

Praise for The Dales Detective series:

'Enlivened with numerous subplots, the story moves at a cracking pace' –
Daily Mail

'Bags of Yorkshire charm and wit' –
Northern Echo

'A classic whodunnit' – Cath Staincliffe, author of
Blue Murder

'Full of dry wit and clever plotting' –
Countryside

'Chapman delivers on every level' –
Lancashire Evening Post

‘As village murder mysteries go, this clever, witty and realistic series is quite out of the ordinary and strongly recommended’ –
Crime Review

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Julia Chapman's Date with Betrayal


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors