book cover of The Forgotten Village
Added by 3 of our members

The Forgotten Village

(2019)
(The Forgotten Wife)
A novel by

 
 
A timeless story of love and sacrifice, perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly, Pam Jenoff and Gill Paul.

"An intriguing mystery that will keep you wanting to read more.' - Gill Paul, author of The Lost Daughter and The Secret Wife

1943: The world is at war, and the people of Tyneham are being asked to make one more sacrifice: to give up their homes to the British army. But on the eve of their departure, a terrible act will cause three of them to disappear forever.

2018: Melissa had hoped a break on the coast of Dorset in England would rekindle her stagnant relationship, but despite the idyllic scenery, it's pushing her and Liam to the brink. When Melissa discovers a strange photograph of a woman who once lived in the forgotten local village of Tyneham, she becomes determined to find out more about her story. But Tyneham hides a terrible secret, and Melissa's search for the truth will change her life in ways she never imagined possible.

Don't miss Lorna Cook's next book, THE FORBIDDEN PROMISE, available to pre-order now...

What others are saying about THE FORGOTTEN VILLAGE:

"Compelling, rich in detail and vividly told, The Forgotten Village explores love and its darker side against the backdrop of a fascinating and little known slice of WW2 history. Perfect for readers of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton."
- NIKOLA SCOTT

"I was so absorbed that I read it in a single day."
- KATE RIORDAN, author of The Girl in the Photograph

"A gripping tale of secrets and love... I loved it."
- LIZ FENWICK, author of The Cornish House

"I was utterly sucked in and swept away by the story, the vivid scenery, the characters, the secrets... I can't wait to read whatever Lorna writes next!."
- JENNY ASHCROFT, author of Island in the East

Genre: Historical Romance

Praise for this book

"A gripping tale of secrets and love… I loved it." - Liz Fenwick

"I was so absorbed that I read it in a single day." - Kate Riordan


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Lorna Cook's The Forgotten Village

Paperback Editions

November 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Wife
Author(s): Lorna Cook
ISBN: 0-00-835285-2 / 978-0-00-835285-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Wife
Author(s): Lorna Cook
ISBN: 0-00-833221-5 / 978-0-00-833221-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Village
Author(s): Lorna Cook
ISBN: 0-00-832185-X / 978-0-00-832185-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Village
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Village
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Village
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Village
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Wife
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Wife
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Wife: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of summer 2019
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : USA, Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Forgotten Village: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of summer 2019
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU