New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
book cover of The Dressmaker of Dachau

The Dressmaker of Dachau

(2015)
(The Dressmaker's War)
A novel by

 
For readers of Amy Bloom, Sarah Waters, and Anthony Doerr, The Dressmaker's War is the story of a brilliant English seamstress taken prisoner in Germany during World War II: about her perseverance, the choices she makes to stay alive, and the haunting aftermath of war.

London, 1939. Ada Vaughan is a young working-class woman with an unusual skill for dressmaking who dreams of opening her own atelier. When she meets Stanislaus von Lieben, a Hungarian aristocrat, a new, better life seems to arrive. Stanislaus sweeps Ada off her feet and brings her to Paris. But when war breaks out and Stanislaus vanishes, Ada is abandoned and alone, trapped on an increasingly dangerous continent.

Taken prisoner by the Germans, Ada does everything she can to survive. In the bleak horror of wartime Germany, Ada's skill for creating beauty and glamour is the one thing that keeps her safe. But after the war, attempting to rebuild her life in London, Ada finds that no one is interested in the messy truths of what happened to women like her. And though Ada thought she had left the war behind, her past eventually comes to light, with devastating consequences.

Gorgeously written and compulsively readable, The Dressmaker's War introduces us to an unforgettable heroine - Ada Vaughan, a woman whose ambition for a better life ultimately comes at a heartbreaking cost.

Advance praise for The Dressmaker's War

"Mary Chamberlain's clear, bright prose is river-swift and Ada Vaughan is a character rich with beautiful, flawed humanity. This is a gripping story about limits and the haunting, brutal way they can be drawn and redrawn in war." - Priya Parmar, author of Vanessa and Her Sister

"A thrilling story, brilliantly told - I couldn't put it down. Ada Vaughan is a character to fall in love with: utterly real, flawed, and beguiling." - Saskia Sarginson, author of The Twins and Without You

"I found myself completely swept up in this tale of love, ambition, and vanity." - Juliet West, author of Before the Fall

"The Dressmaker's War is a powerful and gripping tale of longings and dreams, and how a chance meeting that seems to offer the answers and more instead comes with devastating consequences. It's a story about what a person will do and can do under force. The world before, during, and after World War II is amazingly well-drawn. But it is the character of Ada Vaughan that lingers: her resolve, her passion, and her flaws." - Cecilia Ekback, author of Wolf Winter

From the Hardcover edition.

    Get it on Google Play

Similar Books by other authors...



Hardback Editions

February 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker's War (Thorndike Press Large Print Historical Fiction)
Author(s): Mary Chamberlain
ISBN: 1-4104-8671-0 / 978-1-4104-8671-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker's War: A Novel
Author(s): Mary Chamberlain
ISBN: 0-8129-9737-9 / 978-0-8129-9737-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2015 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker of Dachau
Author(s): Mary Chamberlain
ISBN: 0-00-759152-7 / 978-0-00-759152-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: The Borough Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

April 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker of Dachau
Author(s): Mary Chamberlain
ISBN: 0-00-759155-1 / 978-0-00-759155-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: The Borough Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker of Dachau
Author(s): Mary Chamberlain
ISBN: 0-00-759153-5 / 978-0-00-759153-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: The Borough Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

January 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker's War
Author(s): Mary Chamberlain
ISBN: 1-62231-972-9 / 978-1-62231-972-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: HighBridge Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker's War
Author(s): Mary Chamberlain
Publisher: HighBridge, a Division of Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


April 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker of Dachau
Author(s): Mary Chamberlain
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon   


April 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker of Dachau
Author(s): Mary Chamberlain
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker's War: A Novel
Author(s): Mary Chamberlain
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


April 2015 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker of Dachau
Author(s): Mary Chamberlain
Publisher: The Borough Press
Availability: Amazon UK   



Search for