book cover of The Wednesday Daughters
Added by 1 of our members

The Wednesday Daughters

(2013)
(The second book in the Wednesday series)
A novel by

 
 
In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Karen Joy Fowler, Meg Waite Clayton, bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters, returns with an enthralling new novel of mothers, daughters, and the secrets and dreams passed down through generations.
 
It is early evening when Hope Tantry arrives at the small cottage in England’s pastoral Lake District where her mother, Ally, spent the last years of her life. Ally—one of a close-knit group of women who called themselves the Wednesday Sisters—had used the cottage as a writer’s retreat while she worked on her unpublished biography of Beatrix Potter, yet Hope knows little about her mother’s time there. Traveling with Hope are friends Anna Page and Julie, first introduced as little girls in The Wednesday Sisters, now grown women grappling with issues of a different era. They’ve come to help Hope sort through her mother’s personal effects, yet what they find is a tangled family history—one steeped in Lake District lore.
 
Hope finds a stack of Ally’s old notebooks tucked away in a hidden drawer, all written in a mysterious code. As she, Julie, and Anna Page try to decipher Ally’s writings—the reason for their encryption, their possible connection to the Potter manuscript—they are forced to confront their own personal struggles: Hope’s doubts about her marriage, Julie’s grief over losing her twin sister, Anna Page’s fear of commitment in relationships. And as the real reason for Ally’s stay in England comes to light, Hope, Julie, and Anna Page reach a new understanding about the enduring bonds of family, the unwavering strength of love, and the inescapable pull of the past.

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
 
“The present and the past intertwine beautifully and inevitably in Meg Waite Clayton’s winning follow-up to The Wednesday Sisters. From the beguiling Lake District setting, to a completely charming (and spot-on) portrayal of Beatrix Potter, to the way the Wednesday daughters strive to unpuzzle both their own choices and their mothers’ legacies, every layer of the novel delivers. The Wednesday Daughters is utterly rich and satisfying.”—Paula McLainNew York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife
 
“A captivating novel about mothers and daughters, lifelong friendships, love affairs, betrayals, and redemption. Clayton transports us to the English Lake District, an area rich in literary history and romance, where her characters’ secrets unfold in ways both satisfying and surprising.”—J. Courtney SullivanNew York Times bestselling author of Commencement, Maine, and The Engagements
 
“Beautiful storytelling . . . [Meg Waite Clayton] delves deep into the human heart . . . and [will] keep you hanging on until the very last page is turned.”RT Book Reviews

The Wednesday Daughters is a bewitching escape of a novel. The characters became my beloved companions. I wanted it never to end.”—Elin Hilderbrand, author of Beautiful Day
 
“Heartwarming . . . filled with memorable characters.”Bookreporter

Selected as Recommended Summer Reading by Chicago Tribune • Fort Worth Star-Telegram • San Jose Mercury News

Genre: General Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Meg Waite Clayton's The Wednesday Daughters

Hardback Editions

September 2013 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Wednesday Daughters
Author(s): Meg Waite Clayton
ISBN: 1-61173-794-X / 978-1-61173-794-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Center Point
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2013 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Wednesday Daughters
Author(s): Meg Waite Clayton
ISBN: 0-345-53028-4 / 978-0-345-53028-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Wednesday Daughters: A Novel (Wednesday Series)
Author(s): Meg Waite Clayton
ISBN: 0-345-53029-2 / 978-0-345-53029-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wednesday Daughters: Wednesday, Book 2
Author(s): Meg Waite Clayton
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


July 2013 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wednesday Daughters: Wednesday, Book 2
Author(s): Meg Waite Clayton
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2013 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Wednesday Daughters (Wednesday (2))
Author(s): Meg Waite Clayton
ISBN: 1-62406-671-2 / 978-1-62406-671-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2013 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Wednesday Daughters (Wednesday (2))
Author(s): Meg Waite Clayton
ISBN: 1-62406-675-5 / 978-1-62406-675-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

July 2013 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Wednesday Daughters: A Novel (Wednesday Series Book 2)
Author(s): Meg Waite Clayton
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA