book cover of Borrowed Time
Added by 4 of our members

Borrowed Time

(2019)
(The second book in the Chicago Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 

When Cass Raines, the former Chicago cop turned private investigator, looks into a suspicious death she makes some powerful enemies...

Being a PI can be slow work, sitting around in cars on a stakeout, or serving summonses. But once in a while, it leads straight to danger. When Cass hears about the death of Tim Ayers, she agrees to look into the circumstances. A choice she may come to regret.

Ayers was from a wealthy Chicago family, and was found dead in Lake Michigan, in the water near his luxury boat. Cass begins digging and is surprised to learn that Tim Ayers was terminally ill. Given the large quantities of alcohol and drugs found in his body, his death appears to be either an accident or suicide.

Yet Cass soon realises there are too many unanswered questions and unexplained coincidences. It could be murder. But why would anyone kill a dying man? Cass’s persistence attracts unwanted attention, putting her life in danger and uncovering sinister secrets she may end up taking to her grave.

The gripping second instalment of a private investigator crime series, that is perfect for fans of Ian K. Smith, Sue Grafton and the Cormoran Strike novels.

Praise for Tracy Clark


‘This street-smart first mystery boasts great characterization and a terrific new protagonist. Get this writer on your radar now.’ Booklist

Unforgettable. . . . Distinctive, vividly written characters lift this promising debut. Readers will be eager for the sequel.’ Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

‘Clark’s kickoff to an exciting new character-driven series explores the dynamics between a black investigator and a white world in a story ripped from the headlines.’ Kirkus Reviews

‘Clark’s compelling, suspenseful, and action-packed debut introduces a dogged, tough African American woman investigator who is complex and courageous and surrounded by a family of fascinating misfits. Fans of Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone or Sara Paretsky’s V.I Warshawski will welcome Cass Raines to their ranks.’ Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Tracy Clark 2's Borrowed Time

Hardback Editions

May 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Borrowed Time (A Chicago Mystery)
Author(s): Tracy Clark
ISBN: 1-4967-1490-3 / 978-1-4967-1490-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kensington
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2020 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Borrowed Time (Chicago Mystery)
Author(s): Tracy Clark
ISBN: 1-4967-1491-1 / 978-1-4967-1491-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kensington Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Borrowed Time (The Chicago Mystery Series)
Author(s): Tracy Clark
ISBN: 1-66447-602-4 / 978-1-66447-602-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Recorded Books, Inc. and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


May 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Borrowed Time: A Chicago Mystery
Author(s): Tracy Clark
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


May 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Borrowed Time: A Chicago Mystery
Author(s): Tracy Clark
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Borrowed Time: A Chicago Mystery
Author(s): Tracy Clark
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Borrowed Time: A Chicago Mystery
Author(s): Tracy Clark
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Borrowed Time: A gripping private investigator series (A Cass Raines Mystery Book 2)
Author(s): Tracy Clark
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Borrowed Time (A Chicago Mystery Book 2)
Author(s): Tracy Clark
Publisher: Kensington Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA