book cover of The Watchful Gods and Other Stories

The Watchful Gods and Other Stories

A collection of stories by

Classic stories by a major writer of the modern West.

Walter Van Tilburg Clark, according to critic John R. Milton, "did perhaps more than anyone else to define (in his fiction) the mode of perception, the acquisition of knowledge, and the style which we tend to call Western." In 1950, Clark, author of the acclaimed novel The Ox-Bow Incident--published a collection of short stories that had already won distinction in various national magazines. The collection--Clark's only published volume of short fiction--was well received by reviewers, and subsequent critics have noted that these stories reflect both Clark's literary power and the major concerns of his novels: the interior and intuitive complexities of good and evil, and the fragile, intricate web that connects humankind to the rest of the natural world.

This new paperback edition--which includes "Hook," Clark's most renowned story--makes these remarkable pieces available again to a new generation of readers. A foreword by Ann Ronald sets the stories into the context of Clark's oeuvre and career and illuminates the way they reveal crucial characteristics of this complicated writer's imagination. Clark remains one of the West's most significant writers, among the first to explore the complicated interactions between humankind and the West's vast and often haunted landscape. The stories in The Watchful Gods will offer contemporary readers fresh insight into Clark's unique genius.

Genre: Western

Used availability for Walter van Tilburg Clark's The Watchful Gods and Other Stories

Paperback Editions

August 2004 : USA Paperback

Title: The Watchful Gods And Other Stories (Western Literature Series)
Author(s): Walter Van Tilburg Clark
ISBN: 0-87417-601-8 / 978-0-87417-601-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: University of Nevada Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

1972 : USA Paperback

Title: The watchful gods and other stories
Author(s): Walter Van Tilburg Clark
ISBN: 0-345-02586-5 / 978-0-345-02586-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK