New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of With This Curse

With This Curse

(2014)
(The first book in the With This Curse series)
A novel by

 
 
Winner of the 2015 Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in historical mystery and suspense! Perfect for fans of Victoria Holt, Mary Stewart, and Barbara Michaels.

Can a curse strike twice in a woman's life? In 1854, teenaged chambermaid Clara Crofton was dismissed from Gravesend Hall for having fallen in love with Richard Blackwood, the younger son of the house. Alone in the world, Clara found a tenuous position as a seamstress, but she always blamed the Gravesend curse for the disaster that had befallen her--and for Richard's death soon after in the Crimean War.

A proposal...
Now, more than eighteen years later, Richard's twin, Atticus, seeks out Clara with a strange proposal: if she will marry him and live with him as his wife in name only to ease the mind of his dying father, Atticus will then give her a comfortable income for the rest of her life. Clara knows that he is not disclosing his true motives, but when she runs out of options for an independent life, she has no choice but to become Atticus's wife.

A deception...
For Clara, returning to Gravesend as a bride brings some triumph... but also great unease. Not only must she pretend to be a wellborn lady--and devoted wife to a man whose face is a constant reminder of the love she lost--but ominous portents whisper that her masquerade brings grave danger. "This house will take from you what you most treasure," her mother once warned her. But the curse has already taken the man Clara loved. Will it now demand her life?

Learn how Clara's thrilling story unfolds in With This Curse, an addictive Victorian romantic suspense novel by Amanda DeWees. Readers who enjoyed DeWees's acclaimed historical gothic romance novel Sea of Secrets, as well as those who love Victorian mystery and gothic suspense alike, will be captivated by this strong yet vulnerable heroine and her suspenseful journey through the perils of heartbreak, danger, and love. From the theater world of Victorian London to the austere grandeur of a Cornwall manor house, Clara's adventure takes her into the most dangerous territory of all: her own heart.

Length: 296 pages ~ Sensuality level: mild ~ Includes book club discussion questions

Categories: Victorian historical romance, gothic romance, Victorian mystery, Victorian romantic suspense, historical romantic suspense, mystery, traditional gothic romance, romantic suspense fiction, gothic romance fiction, gothic romance suspense, historical gothic romance, historical mystery, historical romantic suspense, mystery, romantic suspense fiction, sweet historical romance, clean historical romance, clean romance


    

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Secrets in the Mist
(Gothic Myths, book 1)
Anna Lee Huber
thumb
A Lady in Disguise
(Daughters of Hampshire, book 3)
Sandra Byrd
thumb
An Unmourned Man
(Lady C. Investigates, book 1)
Issy Brooke

Used availability for Amanda DeWees's With This Curse

Paperback Editions

January 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: With This Curse
Author(s): Amanda DeWees
ISBN: 1-982075-49-X / 978-1-982075-49-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: With This Curse
Author(s): Amanda DeWees
ISBN: 1-978475-99-3 / 978-1-978475-99-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: With This Curse
Author(s): Amanda DeWees
ISBN: 1-5030-6674-6 / 978-1-5030-6674-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: With This Curse
Author(s): Amanda DeWees
ISBN: 1-4959-3437-3 / 978-1-4959-3437-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

May 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: With This Curse
Author(s): Amanda DeWees
Publisher: Amanda DeWees
Availability: Amazon   


May 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: With This Curse
Author(s): Amanda DeWees
Publisher: Amanda DeWees
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: With This Curse
Author(s): Amanda DeWees
Publisher: Amanda DeWees
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2014 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: With This Curse: A Novel of Victorian Romantic Suspense
Author(s): Amanda DeWees
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA