New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Memory Palace

The Memory Palace

(2003)
A novel by

 
 
A lavish and intelligent historical romance that moves between the ferment of Stuart England and the dangers of Cuzco and Florida as tragically separated lovers John and Zeal struggle to survive and be reunited. An epic love story set in the period of Longitude, for readers of Philippa Gregory and Rose Tremain. Readers of The Lady Tree will know the characters Zeal Beeston and John Nightingale. This new episode in their lives weaves the drama of John's voyage to lands not yet mapped with the story of Zeal's ever more desperate attempts to ward off Puritan suiters until John returns to marry her. Barely weeks after Zeal falls deeply in love with him, John is forced to flee England, to face absolutely new and unimagined experiences among the Incas and the Caribs. Zeal, a Puritan heiress, is left behind. She builds a house of unique design, her own, against all propriety or godly reason. These are dangerous times. The King is four years away from execution and his high-handed style ensures his terrible fate. Treasure from the New World pours into the country, but not only into his treasury. Self-made men are becoming as powerful as the aristocracy. Zeal will not give up her hope that John will return. Civil War rages around her; she has had to face charges of witchcraft and even murder. But when John does, miraculously, come back to her after eight years, he brings a half-Inca daughter. And his experiences have changed him for ever. She has only her house, but her house is the Memory Palace, where riches as precious as New World treasure can be found. With its coded friezes and carvings, its passages and stairs, its very dimensions, it is a world Zeal has made for herself, despite everything. Her hope is to share it with John -- and with the small child he brings into her life.

    Get it on Google Play

Similar Books by other authors...

thumb
The Crown
(Joanna Stafford, book 1)
Nancy Bilyeau

Used availability for Christie Dickason's The Memory Palace

Hardback Editions

June 2003 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Memory Palace
Author(s): Christie Dickason
ISBN: 0-00-710123-6 / 978-0-00-710123-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

June 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Memory Palace
Author(s): Christie Dickason
ISBN: 0-00-733384-6 / 978-0-00-733384-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2004 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Memory Palace
Author(s): Christie Dickason
ISBN: 0-00-710128-7 / 978-0-00-710128-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

January 2014 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Memory Palace
Author(s): Christie Dickason
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA