New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Next book >>

Rust and Bone

(2005)
A collection of stories by

 

"There is a strikingly original tone to Mr Davidson's stories. The prose is spare yet elegant, the insights are fresh and real, and best of all there is a boundless humanity in Mr. Davidson's writing: a love of life that is beautifully woven with an acute sense of its darkness. This is in every way an extraordinary book."
Clive Barker


"These big, riveting stories about tough guys in trouble are the best I've read in a long time from a young writer. There's enough incident, shock and suspense for a dozen books. This collection is filled with stories you haven't heard before."
Bret Easton Ellis


"Davidson...smudges the line between comedy and horror, cruelty and mercy. His remarkable stories are challenging and upsetting...Don't look for comfort here."
Chuck Palahniuk


In steel-tipped prose, Craig Davidson conjures a savage world populated by fighting dogs, prizefighters, sex addicts, gamblers, a repo man and a disappearing magician. The title of the lead story, "28 Bones", refers to the number of bones in a boxer's hands; once broken, they never heal properly, and the fighter's career descends to bouts that have less to do with sport than with survival: no referee, no rules, not even gloves. In "A Mean Utility" we enter an even more desperate arena: dogfights where Rottweilers, pit bulls and Dobermans fight each other to the death. Davidson's stories are small monuments to the telling detail. The hostility of his fictional universe is tempered by the humanity he invests in his characters and by his subtle and very moving observations of their motivation. In the tradition of Hemingway, "Rust and Bone" explores violence, masculinity and life on the margins. Visceral and with a dark urgency, this is a truly original debut.

 
Used availability for Craig Davidson's Rust and Bone


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

February 2006 : UK Hardback
Title: Rust and Bone
Author(s): Craig Davidson
ISBN: 0-330-44180-9 / 978-0-330-44180-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

November 2005 : USA Hardback
Title: Rust and Bone: Stories
Author(s): Craig Davidson
ISBN: 0-393-06129-9 / 978-0-393-06129-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: W. W. Norton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 2005 : USA Hardback
Title: Rust and Bone
Author(s): Craig Davidson
ISBN: 0-670-06442-4 / 978-0-670-06442-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Penguin Books Canada, Limited
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

October 2012 : UK Paperback
Title: Rust and Bone
Author(s): Craig Davidson
ISBN: 1-4472-2624-0 / 978-1-4472-2624-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2012 : UK Paperback
Title: Rust and Bone
Author(s): Craig Davidson
ISBN: 1-4472-1942-2 / 978-1-4472-1942-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   

June 2007 : UK Paperback
Title: Rust and Bone
Author(s): Craig Davidson
ISBN: 0-330-44181-7 / 978-0-330-44181-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

November 2006 : USA Paperback
Title: Rust and Bone: Stories
Author(s): Craig Davidson
ISBN: 0-393-32900-3 / 978-0-393-32900-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

August 2006 : UK Paperback
Title: [Rust and Bone: Stories] [by: Craig Davidson]
Author(s): Craig Davidson
ISBN: 0-14-305125-3 / 978-0-14-305125-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Canada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

February 2006 : UK Paperback
Title: Rust and Bone
Author(s): Craig Davidson
ISBN: 0-330-44586-3 / 978-0-330-44586-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

June 2012 : UK Kindle edition
Title: Rust and Bone
Author(s): Craig Davidson
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   

November 2006 : USA Kindle edition
Title: Rust and Bone: Stories
Author(s): Craig Davidson
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   

August 2006 : Canada Kindle edition
Title: Rust and Bone
Author(s): Craig Davidson
Publisher: Penguin Canada
Availability: Amazon CA   



Search for