book cover of The Ghost Suspect
 

The Ghost Suspect

(2020)
(The fourth book in the Mitch Turner Short Stories series)
A Novella by

 
 
Mitch Turner’s client is going to jail for murder. It is now just a matter of negotiating a plea bargain, something his client refuses to do.

As a final request for his client, he agrees to interview one last potential witness. The moment he steps into the witness’s home, he begins to suspect that the man is insane.

Then the witness claims that a ghost murdered the victim.

Going against his better judgment, Mitch Turner investigates the only real-world possibility, thinking it will go nowhere but knowing he must first satisfy his client before they can work on a plea bargain.

If you like legal thrillers, this short story is for you. Mitch Turner is a fast-talking lawyer who takes risks where others might not. Fans of John Grisham, Michael Connelly, and Scott Turrow will enjoy this story. Pick up your copy today!

Sneak Peek

“Thank you for meeting with me,” I said to Thomas Warner as I stepped inside his apartment and looked around, my skin crawling because the place was filthy. My client Fred Samuelson had insisted that I speak with Thomas about his case, begging me to go in person, rather than send my investigator.

“Thomas can prove my innocence!” Fred had insisted. Seeing my skeptical look, he went on. “Please, just spend five minutes with him.”

I had finally conceded, just before the officer took Fred back to his prison cell.

“I don’t intend to take much of your time today,” I said to Thomas, “but my client Fred Samuelson wanted me to speak with you.”

“Of course, of course, I’m glad you came. I sent Fred that letter weeks ago, it must’ve taken him forever to get it.”

Why didn’t Fred mention the letter? I wondered.

It was difficult to not gag as I looked around the apartment. Thomas pointed to a chair and offered me a seat, but after spying a black mark on it that I could not identify, I declined.

“This is about that letter,” I said before Thomas could insist again. “I understand you might have seen something on the night of the murder. Can you tell me what you saw?”

Thomas’s face became stern. “I can prove that Fred is innocent.”

Fred’s case was open and shut as far as I was concerned.

The evidence against him was ironclad, and the only thing left to do was convince my client that it was time to negotiate a plea deal. The murder weapon had his fingerprints all over it. I was not gonna get around that.

I stifled an impatient sigh. “What did you see?”

“Fred was set up by a ghost.”

Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Dan Decker's The Ghost Suspect


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors