New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Next book >>
book cover of 

Hope

Hope

(1997)
A novel by

 
Gabriel Jones could be your boyfriend, your husband, or even yourself--he's an intelligent, charming, poetry-loving university graduate; he believes in love; he's capable of strong friendships--and he's been seeing a gorgeous high-priced call girl who picked him up in a London caf. He's also addicted to pornography. In fact, it's his attraction to pornography that causes the collapse of his relationship with the one woman he has ever loved. Hope is a novel in the tradition of Philip Roth's Portnoy's Complaint, Nabokov's Lolita, and Dostoyevsky's Notes from the Underground--confessional novels that have at their centers a hyperintelligent protagonist who seductively draws the reader into an illicit world. Why would a young, attractive man, who has found the woman of his dreams, turn to pornography? Why do men in general turn to pornography? Welcome to the world of Hope. By turns disarmingly intelligent, hilariously funny, and deeply disturbing, Hope examines Gabriel Jones's numerous obsessions: love and friendship; behavior he recognizes as both ridiculous and self-destructive; and mortality. It signals the remarkable debut of a highly talented young writer.

 
Used availability for Glen Duncan's Hope


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

August 1999 : USA Mass Market Paperback
Title: Hope
Author(s): Glen Duncan
ISBN: 1-57322-732-3 / 978-1-57322-732-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Riverhead Trade
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 1998 : UK Paperback
Title: Hope
Author(s): Glen Duncan
ISBN: 0-14-026469-8 / 978-0-14-026469-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

July 1997 : USA Paperback
Title: Hope
Author(s): Glen Duncan
ISBN: 0-670-87472-8 / 978-0-670-87472-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Viking UK
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for