book cover of Death at the Abbey
Added by 16 members
 

Death at the Abbey

(2022)
(The first book in the Kipper Cottage Cozy Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
A cliff-top murder. A clever canine. A seaside sleuth.

After the death of her husband, Liz McLuckie has taken early retirement and moved to Whitby, a picturesque fishing town on the North Yorkshire coast. She thinks the renovation of two ramshackle fishing cottages will take her mind off things, but soon discovers Whitby isn’t quite the peaceful retreat she imagined.

When she discovers the body of a local Professor near the medieval Abbey, Liz reluctantly finds herself at the centre of a murder investigation. The post mortem reveals death by drowning. So how did he get onto the clifftop? And why did he have a fish in his pocket?

Liz follows the trail of the murderer, and many red herrings - both literal and metaphorical - in the company of her friends, including an almost-reformed burglar, a disgraced archaeology student and Nelson the bull terrier - the ugliest (and bravest!) dog in Yorkshire.

Death At The Abbey — Book 1 in the Kipper Cottage Mystery series. Perfect for fans of Stella Cameron and Frances Evesham.

What readers are saying about
Death at the Abbey:

“I loved this cosy mystery! There are funny characters and a
classic vibe of the old whodunit books. Grab a cup of tea and enjoy this lovely book.” -Bookish Days

“It is a great cosy mystery set in picturesque Whitby on the North Yorkshire Coast. The setting is perfect, the characters are interesting and the
storyline had me hooked. I really enjoyed it and look forward to reading further books in this series.” -Netgalley Reviewer

“This was a
lovely book to read, and I thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to end. I curled up in my chair to read and just couldn't put it down. The storyline was fabulous and kept you guessing, with some nice twists and turns and revelations.” -Booksprout Reviewer

“This cozy mystery will hold you in its grip and keep you turning the pages. The mystery, suspense, and twists and turns will have you
sitting on the edge of your seat waiting to find out what happens next. It's well written, flows smoothly from page to page and you find it hard to stop reading. Mystery fans won't want to miss out on this one.” -Goodreads Reviewer

“Death at the Abbey is a perfect example of what a cozy mystery should have. I must say: this book had the perfect mix of character introduction, setting and mystery. Jan Durham is a master storyteller. I am in awe of her writing and I cannot wait to read the next book in this series.” -The Book Decoder

Well written and intriguing with some colourful characters and great descriptions of community life and the locale. Now for book two!” -Goodreads Reviewer



Genre: Cozy Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Jan Durham's Death at the Abbey


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors