book cover of A Dance in Donegal
Added by 10 of our members

A Dance in Donegal

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
"Deibel's descriptions of Ireland's landscape, enticing cuisine, sonorous language, and vibrant culture converge to form a spectacular background for the story."--BookPage starred review

All of her life, Irish-American Moira Doherty has relished her mother's descriptions of Ireland. When her mother dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1920, Moira decides to fulfill her mother's wish that she become the teacher in Ballymann, her home village in Donegal, Ireland.

After an arduous voyage, Moira arrives to a new home and a new job in an ancient country. Though a few locals offer a warm welcome, others are distanced by superstition and suspicion. Rumors about Moira's mother are unspoken in her presence but threaten to derail everything she's journeyed to Ballymann to do. Moira must rely on the kindness of a handful of friends--and the strength of Sean, an unsettlingly handsome thatcher who keeps popping up unannounced--as she seeks to navigate a life she'd never dreamed of . . . but perhaps was meant to live.

Jennifer Deibel's debut novel delights the senses, bringing to life the sights, sounds, smells, and language of a lush country and a colorful people. Historical romance fans will embrace her with open arms.

"God's redemptive love is the highlight of this debut work . . . Fans of historical Christian romances in the vein of Kristi Ann Hunter and Jen Turano will want to keep an eye on Deibel."--Library Journal

"Deibel's exemplarily executed debut is a touching tale of love and forgiveness that also beautifully captures the warmth and magic of 1920s Ireland. The author's flair for vivid characterization is especially striking in Moira, whose realistic struggles with her faith give her memorable depth and relatability."--Booklist


Genre: Inspirational

Praise for this book

"Fans of Catherine Marshall's Christy will want to clear room on their favorites shelf because this one's earned a place alongside!" - Kristy Cambron

"With an authenticity born of having lived in Ireland herself, the author deftly paints a lush landscape, colorful customs, and memorable characters with personal journeys of their own. This impressive debut marks Jennifer Deibel as an author to watch." - Jocelyn Green

"Jennifer Deibel's debut is rich in atmosphere, family mystery, and sweet romance. A gem!" - Julie Klassen


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Jennifer Deibel's A Dance in Donegal

Hardback Editions

February 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Dance in Donegal
Author(s):
ISBN: 0-8007-3963-9 / 978-0-8007-3963-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Revell
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: A Dance in Donegal
Author(s): Jennifer Deibel
ISBN: 0-8007-3841-1 / 978-0-8007-3841-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Revell
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Dance in Donegal
Author(s): Jennifer Deibel
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


February 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Dance in Donegal
Author(s): Jennifer Deibel
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Dance in Donegal
Author(s): Jennifer Deibel
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Dance in Donegal
Author(s): Jennifer Deibel
Publisher: Revell
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU