New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Coroner

The Coroner

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
Summoned from her promising surgical career first to her estranged father's bedside, and then his post as medical examiner when his small town needs urgent help with a suspicious death, Emily Hartford discovers home is where the bodies are in this pitch perfect mystery debut.

Recently engaged and deeply ensconced in her third year of surgical residency in Chicago, Emily Hartford gets a shock when she's called home to Freeport, MI, the small town she fled a decade ago after the death of her mother. Her estranged father, the local medical examiner, has had a massive heart attack and Emily is needed urgently to help with his recovery.

Not sure what to expect, Emily races home, blowing the only stoplight at the center of town and getting pulled over by her former high school love, now Sheriff, Nick Larson. At the hospital, she finds her father in near total denial of the seriousness of his condition. He insists that the best thing Emily can do to help him is to take on the autopsy of a Senator's teen daughter whose sudden, unexplained death has just rocked the sleepy town.

Reluctantly agreeing to help her father and Nick, Emily gets down to work, only to discover that the girl was murdered. The autopsy reminds her of her many hours in the morgue with her father when she was a young teen - a time which inspired her love of medicine. Before she knows it, she's pulled deeper into the case and closer to her father and to Nick - much to the dismay of her big city fiance. When a threat is made to Emily herself, she must race to catch the killer before he strikes again in The Coroner, expertly written and sharply plotted, perfect for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Julia Spencer Fleming.

Genre: Mystery    

Praise for this book

"Emily is strong and competent, vulnerable and kind... Add a twisty plot, romance, and family drama and the result is this satisfying first-in-a-series mystery." - Dawn Eastman

"If you like small town mysteries, twisty reads or books by Lisa Black or Patricia Cornwell, you'll love The Coroner." - Karen Harper

"Fast-paced and riveting, The Coronor by Jennifer Dornbush is filled with surprises, authentic detail and memorable characters. Well done!" - Carla Neggers


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Look Alive Twenty-Five
(Stephanie Plum, book 25)
Janet Evanovich

Hardback Editions

August 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Coroner
Author(s): Jennifer Graeser Dornbush
ISBN: 1-68331-623-1 / 978-1-68331-623-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

August 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Coroner
Author(s): Jennifer Graeser Dornbush
ISBN: 1-982539-62-3 / 978-1-982539-62-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Coroner
Author(s): Jennifer Graeser Dornbush
ISBN: 1-982539-61-5 / 978-1-982539-61-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2018 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Coroner
Author(s): Jennifer Graeser Dornbush
ISBN: 1-982539-63-1 / 978-1-982539-63-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2018 : USA, , Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Coroner
Author(s): Jennifer Graeser Dornbush
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA