book cover of The Salt House
Added by 12 of our members
 

The Salt House

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova, this gorgeously written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful debut set during a Maine summer traces the lives of a young family in the aftermath of tragedy.

In the coastal town of Alden, Maine, Hope and Jack Kelly have settled down to a life of wedded bliss. They have a beautiful family, a growing lobster business, and the Salt House—the dilapidated oceanfront cottage they’re renovating into their dream home. But tragedy strikes when their young daughter doesn’t wake up from her afternoon nap, taking her last breath without making a sound.

A year later, each member of the Kelly family navigates the world on their own private island of grief. Hope spends hours staring at her daughter’s ashes, unable to let go. Jack works to the point of exhaustion in an attempt to avoid his crumbling marriage. Their daughters, Jess and Kat, struggle to come to terms with the loss of their younger sister while watching their parents fall apart.

When Jack’s old rival, Ryland Finn, threatens his fishing territory, he ignites emotions that propel the Kelly family toward circumstances that will either tear them apart—or be the path to their family’s future.

Told in alternating voices, The Salt House is a layered, emotional portrait of marriage, family, friendship, and the complex intersections of love, grief, and hope.

Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"Lisa Duffy paints a realistic and heart-wrenching portrait of a family trying to move on from an unimaginable loss. Emotionally complex and as atmospheric as the rocky Maine shores where the story is set, The Salt House reels you in and doesn't let go until the final, satisfying page." - Kristin Contino

"Lisa Duffy has burst on the scene with this at once heartbreaking and life affirming debut. A lyrical and beautifully written story about love, loss, forgiveness and moving forward, The Salt House confirms that Lisa Duffy is one to watch." - Kristy Woodson Harvey

"The Salt House, Lisa Duffy's fine debut novel, is a compelling examination of grief and the way loss threatens the lives of every family member." - Jill McCorkle

"One of the best human portraits I've read in a novel--Lisa Duffy's The Salt House masterfully depicts a family stuck in the cracks of unhealed wounds and profiles complex behavior with stunning clarity. You'll need to make room on your keeper shelf for this beautiful debut." - Therese Walsh


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Lisa Duffy's The Salt House

Paperback Editions

June 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Salt House: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Duffy
ISBN: 1-5011-5655-1 / 978-1-5011-5655-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Salt House: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Duffy
ISBN: 1-5200-7325-9 / 978-1-5200-7325-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Salt House: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Duffy
ISBN: 1-5200-7329-1 / 978-1-5200-7329-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Salt House: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Duffy
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


June 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Salt House: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Duffy
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2017 : USA, Australia, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Salt House: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Duffy
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Salt House: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Duffy
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon UK