book cover of The Perishing
Added by 10 of our members
 

The Perishing

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
A Black immortal in 1930's Los Angeles must recover the memory of her past in order to discover who she truly is in this extraordinarily affecting novel for readers of N. K. Jemisin and Octavia E. Butler.

Lou, a young Black woman, wakes up in an alley in 1930s Los Angeles with no memory of how she got there or where she’s from. Taken in by a caring foster family, Lou dedicates herself to her education while trying to put her mysterious origins behind her. She’ll go on to become the first Black female journalist at the Los Angeles Times, but Lou’s extraordinary life is about to take an even more remarkable turn. When she befriends a firefighter at a downtown boxing gym, Lou is shocked to realize that though she has no memory of meeting him, she’s been drawing his face for years.
 
Increasingly certain that their paths previously crossed—and beset by unexplainable flashes from different eras haunting her dreams—Lou begins to believe she may be an immortal sent here for a very important reason, one that only others like her can explain. Setting out to investigate the mystery of her existence, Lou must make sense of the jumble of lifetimes calling to her, just as new forces threaten the existence of those around her.
 
Immersed in the rich historical tapestry of Los Angeles—Prohibition, the creation of Route 66, and the collapse of the St. Francis Dam—The Perishing is a stunning examination of love and justice through the eyes of one miraculous woman whose fate seems linked to the city she comes to call home.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"I loved traveling through Natashia Deon's haunting vision of our intertwined past and future; her gaze is both unflinching and deeply compassionate, the truest view of humanity in our everlasting present." - Jade Chang

"This isn't a book. It's a touchstone. It's an oracle. It's a mirror in which you will see your authentic self, reflected on the pages. The Perishing is one part lyrical mystery, one part history lesson you didn't learn in school, one part time machine. It's a lush, genre-smashing, philosophical experience of a novel that blew my mind even as it broke my heart." - Jamie Ford

"Remarkable, strange, and richly inventive, Natashia Deón's The Perishing will keep you up all night and haunt you long afterward. Deón's newest novel is a wonder and a feat." - R O Kwon

"For a second time, Deón has proven herself a magnificent, artful storyteller. The Perishing is by turns mysterious, heartbreaking, and inspiring. I love this novel and its courageous protagonist." - De'Shawn Charles Winslow


Used availability for Natashia Deon's The Perishing

Hardback Editions

November 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Perishing: A Novel
Author(s): Natashia Deon
ISBN: 1-64009-302-8 / 978-1-64009-302-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Counterpoint
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2022 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Perishing: A Novel
Author(s): Natashia Deon
ISBN: 1-64009-560-8 / 978-1-64009-560-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Counterpoint
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

November 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Perishing
Author(s): Natashia Deon
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

November 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Perishing: A Novel
Author(s): Natashia Deon
Publisher: Counterpoint
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU