book cover of The Eye of God
Added by 42 members

The Eye of God

(The second book in the Kathryn Swinbrooke series)
A novel by

The Eye of God is the second novel in the unusual new series of medieval mysteries featuring Kathryn Swinbrooke, physician and chemist in fifteenth-century Canterbury. Based on extensive research, C. L. Grace's series highlights the fact that women doctors played vital roles in English medieval medicine, only to be excluded from the profession in subsequent centuries. As the bloody confusion of the War of the Roses rages around him, Richard Neville, Earl of Warwick, gives the precious royal relic the Eye of God to his trusted soldier Brandon, just before Neville is killed. Ordered to take the priceless Eye of God to the monks at Canterbury, Brandon is captured and held prisoner in the city. When Brandon dies under mysterious circumstances and the Eye of God is nowhere to be found, soldier Colum Murtagh is summoned by King Edward IV to find the relic and physician Kathryn Swinbrooke to assess the death. Resuming their unlikely partnership, the two find themselves in an increasingly dangerous situation: A corpse is pulled from a river and another murder takes place in Canterbury, while Colum is tracked by threatening pursuers. As all signs point to an intrigue involving enemies of Edward IV, Colum and Katherine must rely on each other's wits for protection.

Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for P C Doherty's The Eye of God

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors