New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book
book cover of 

White Lead

White Lead

A novel by

In this stylish, fast-paced thriller, for readers of Tana French and Stieg Larsson, a deadly heist upends art conservator Stella Da Silvera's life in New York City. Now she must restore order or lose everything.

As a night owl, Stella Da Silvera appreciates that Claiborne's Auction House allows her to keep an unconventional schedule. Natural light can damage priceless works of art, and besides, Stella's concentration improves after hours.

One night, while working on a seventeenth-century painting by Diego Velazquez, Stella hears screams from the office of Claiborne's curator Jack Ashby. She tries to investigate, but when the noise fades away, she heads back to her studio - where she finds a dead body and a man with a tattooed face who isn't happy to have company. After eluding the unsavory character, Stella returns with the police, only to find the corpse - and the Velazquez - gone.

With no murder in evidence, the detectives turn their attention to the missing canvas. They figure Stella had access and opportunity, making her a prime suspect. Adding insult to injury, Claiborne's cans her for negligence. To save her reputation, Stella has no choice but to find the painting. Turns out, someone else is looking for her.

Used availability for Susan Daitch's White Lead

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Kindle Editions

November 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
Title: White Lead: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Susan Daitch
Publisher: Alibi
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

Search for