New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
book cover of White Lead

White Lead

(2016)
A novel by

 
Falsely accused of a bizarre murder - and a daring heist - art conservator Stella Da Silvera uncovers a secret history of deception in this stylish thriller for readers of The Art Forger and The Last Painting of Sara de Vos.

Late one night, while restoring a seventeenth-century painting by Diego Velazquez, Stella Da Silvera hears screams from the office of Claiborne's curator Jack Ashby. She goes to investigate, but when the noise fades away she heads back to her studio - where she finds a dead body dressed like a figure in the painting and a man with a tattooed face who isn't happy to have company. After eluding the unsavory character, Stella returns with the police, only to find the corpse - and the Velazquez - gone.

With no murder in evidence, the detectives turn their attention to the missing canvas. They figure Stella had access and opportunity, making her a prime suspect. Adding insult to injury, Claiborne's cans her for negligence. To save her reputation, Stella has no choice but to find the painting. But she's not the only one looking, and someone else is looking for her.

Advance praise for White Lead

"A novelist who manages to surprise on nearly every page." - Matt Bell, author of Scrapper

"Susan Daitch at her finest! Fascinating story, captivating writing." - Deb Olin Unferth, author of Revolution: The Year I Fell In Love and Went to Join the War and Vacation

Praise for Susan Daitch

"It's always a delight to discover a voice as original as Susan Daitch's." - Salman Rushdie

"One of the most intelligent and attentive writers at work in the U.S." - David Foster Wallace

    

Similar Books by other authors...

thumb
Rum and Razors
(Murder, She Wrote, book 3)
Donald Bain and Jessica Fletcher
thumb
The Kill List
(Jamie Sinclair, book 1)
Nichole Christoff
thumb
The Case of the Invisible Dog
(Shirley Homes Mystery, book 1)
Diane Stingley
thumb
Savage Reckoning
(Backwoods Justice, book 1)
C Hoyt Caldwell


Kindle Editions

November 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: White Lead: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Susan Daitch
Publisher: Alibi
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   



Search for