book cover of Eagle at Taranto
Added by 2 of our members

Eagle at Taranto

(1987)
A novel by

 
 

The story of one of the most daring raids of the Second World War.

The Italian fleet, harboured at Taranto, were proving to be a thorn in the side of the Allied war effort, preventing the spread of operations from Malta to Egypt.

But the sheltering battleships and cruisers were more heavily defended than anything previously attacked by the slow, lumbering, carrier-based torpedo planes.

Enter Mark Ward, an ace pilot in the RAF. Armed only with his wits and his trusty Swordfish biplane, he and his comrades must strike a devastating blow to the Italian fleet, or risk losing the war…

A pulse-pounding thriller based on real events, perfect for fans of Alexander Kent, Douglas Reeman and Alistair MacLean.

Genre: Thriller

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Sledgehammer
Wolf Kruger

Used availability for Alan Evans's Eagle at Taranto

Hardback Editions

May 1988 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Eagle at Taranto
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 0-7089-1797-6 / 978-0-7089-1797-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Large Print Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 1987 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Eagle at Taranto
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 0-340-39526-5 / 978-0-340-39526-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2001 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Eagle at Taranto
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 0-7551-0568-0 / 978-0-7551-0568-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: House of Stratus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 1988 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Eagle at Taranto (Coronet Books)
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 0-340-48918-9 / 978-0-340-48918-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Coronet Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

January 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Eagle at Taranto
Author(s): Alan Evans
Publisher: Canelo Action
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU