New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

The Petticoat Men

(2014)
A novel by

 
A captivating historical novel which uncovers sensational new information about a scandalous court case that rocked Victorian England

The Victorian gossipmongers called them The Petticoat Men. But to young Mattie Stacey, they are Freddie and Ernest, her gentlemen lodgers. It is Mattie who admires their sparkling gowns, makes their extravagant hats and laughs at their stories of attending society balls dressed up as the glamorous "Fanny" and "Stella." But one fateful night Fanny and Stella are arrested, and Mattie is dragged into a shocking court trial, described in newspapers all over England as "The Scandal of the Century." This richly atmospheric novel of Victorian London exposes a political secret lost to history until now, and is perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and Rose Tremain.

 
Similar Books by other authors...


The Great Stink
Clare Clark

Our Endless Numbered Days
Claire Fuller

Golden Hill
Francis Spufford

The Strings of Murder
(Frey & McGray, book 1)

Oscar De Muriel
 
Used availability for Barbara Ewing's The Petticoat Men


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

June 2014 : UK Hardback
Title: The Petticoat Men
Author(s): Barbara Ewing
ISBN: 1-78185-996-5 / 978-1-78185-996-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

June 2015 : UK Paperback
Title: The Petticoat Men
Author(s): Barbara Ewing
ISBN: 1-78185-983-3 / 978-1-78185-983-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

November 2014 : UK Paperback
Title: The Petticoat Men
Author(s): Barbara Ewing
ISBN: 1-78185-982-5 / 978-1-78185-982-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

November 2014 : UK Audio CD
Title: The Petticoat Men
Author(s): Barbara Ewing
ISBN: 1-4712-7902-2 / 978-1-4712-7902-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   

November 2014 : USA Audio edition
Title: The Petticoat Men
Author(s): Barbara Ewing
Publisher: Lamplight Audio
Availability: Amazon   

November 2014 : UK Audio edition
Title: The Petticoat Men
Author(s): Barbara Ewing
Publisher: Lamplight Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

October 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
Title: The Petticoat Men
Author(s): Barbara Ewing
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

November 2014 : UK Kindle edition
Title: The Petticoat Men
Author(s): Barbara Ewing
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for