New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

The Songs

(2017)
A novel by

 
From the bestselling author of Mr Toppit, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick,comes a riotous, darkly comic story of siblings searching for the truth about their musician father - for fans of The Rosie Project, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and The Humans

My brother Huddie said that we must be in the very small percentile of people who had a mother who fell out of the same window twice. Even dogs don't do that: they learn from experience.

Iz Herzl, renowned political activist and protest singer, has always said that you should concentrate on the future, not the past. Now aged eighty, a reclusive figure holed up in Muswell Hill, Iz's refusal to reflect on his life leaves his teenage children, maths wunderkind Rose and her dying brother Huddie, adrift in myth and
uncertainty.

Iz doesn't talk about his other child, Joseph, a West End songwriter whom Rose and Huddie have never met. Joseph's single, disastrous encounter with his father many years earlier set him on a violent path to self destruction. Now he tries to impose order on his chaotic world with rhyme, transforming traumatic events into song.

As the scattered children of Iz Herzl begin to converge, the ambiguities at the heart of their father's life start to surface in a way that will change them all. The Songs is a bittersweet tale of family, fame and ambition that is both darkly comic and deeply affecting.

 
Used availability for Charles Elton's The Songs


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

June 2017 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: The Songs
Author(s): Charles Elton
ISBN: 1-59051-799-7 / 978-1-59051-799-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Other Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

June 2017 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: The Songs
Author(s): Charles Elton
ISBN: 1-4088-8239-6 / 978-1-4088-8239-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   

Paperback Editions

June 2017 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Songs
Author(s): Charles Elton
ISBN: 1-4088-8238-8 / 978-1-4088-8238-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Availability: Amazon UK   

Audio Editions

June 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Songs
Author(s): Charles Elton
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

June 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Songs
Author(s): Charles Elton
Publisher: Other Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

June 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Songs
Author(s): Charles Elton
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for