Elliot Ackerman's picture
4 followers

Elliot Ackerman



Elliot Ackerman served five tours of duty in Iraq and Afghanistan and is the recipient of the Silver Star, the Bronze Star for Valor, and the Purple Heart. A former White House Fellow, his essays and fiction have appeared in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, The New Republic, and Ecotone, among others. He currently lives in Istanbul with his wife and two children, and writes on the Syrian Civil War.

Genres: Literary Fiction, Thriller, General Fiction
 
Novels
   Green On Blue (2015)
   Dark at the Crossing (2017)
   Waiting for Eden (2018)
   Red Dress in Black and White (2020)
   2034 (2021) (with Admiral James Stavridis)
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumb
 
Non fiction
thumbthumb
 
Awards
National Book Award for Fiction Best Book nominee (2017) : Dark at the Crossing


Elliot Ackerman recommends
thumb
Born On a Tuesday (2016)
Elnathan John
"Working in the tradition of Achebe, Elnathan John has penned a coming of age novel worthy of Twain. At times tragic, at times humorous, Born on a Tuesday is the story of those who find the courage to transcend violence even when born to its confines."
thumb
American War (2017)
Omar El Akkad
"Omar El Akkad’s urgent debut transmutes our society’s current dysfunction into a terrifying yet eerily recognizable future, where contemporary global and local conflicts have wreaked havoc on American soil."
thumb
Silent Hearts (2018)
Gwen Florio
"With deep reservoirs of empathy and intelligence, Gwen Florio's Silent Hearts asserts that humanity is something we share across cultures and that all hearts break the same. Her talent is on full display in these pages and she is masterful."
thumb
The Far Field (2019)
Madhuri Vijay
"Utterly immersive and vividly realized, The Far Field is that rare gem of a novel which effortlessly transports the reader into distant, unfamiliar terrain through the force of a story deeply anchored in the humanity of its characters. Madhuri Vijay's debut marks the arrival of an astonishing new talent."
thumb
The Book of Anna (2020)
Carmen Boullosa
"A beguiling return to the world created by Tolstoy. This beautiful translation takes Anna Karenina’s story a step further, showing how a single tragedy ripples across generations."
thumb
Missionaries (2020)
Phil Klay
"What happens when a novel becomes more than a novel? It becomes a prophecy. Phil Klay has written a prophecy."
thumb
Hades, Argentina (2021)
Daniel Loedel
"Deception, violence, a society on the brink, Hades, Argentina haunted me long after I turned the final page. Loedel is a writer of enormous talent."
thumb
Roundabout of Death (2021)
Faysal Khartash
"Some books stand as monuments to wars from which they arise. This is one of those books."
thumb
The Vanishing Point (2021)
Elizabeth Brundage
"A novel about what is seen, but also what remains unseen in our lives. The interplay between the two is what makes great photography, a great story, and what makes The Vanishing Point a beautiful work of art."
thumb
Holdout (2021)
Jeffrey Kluger
"One of those rare books that is both a ripping good read and a parable for our times. Holdout doesn't shy away from the big questions. It is deeply imagined, morally complex, and stayed with me long after the last page."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors