New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Breadwinner Series Boxed Set

The Breadwinner Series Boxed Set

(A book in the Breadwinner series)
An omnibus of novels by

For the first time, the books in the bestselling Breadwinner series - The Breadwinner, Parvana's Journey, Mud City, and My Name Is Parvana - are brought together in a beautiful boxed set of paperback books. These gripping novels, inspired by stories Deborah Ellis heard in Afghan refugee camps, are loved by children the world over. These 15th anniversary editions have new covers and maps, and updated author's notes. The Breadwinner includes a special foreword by Deborah Ellis.

The Breadwinner
Eleven-year-old Parvana lives with her family in one room of a bombed-out apartment building in Kabul, Afghanistan's capital city. When her father is arrested for the crime of having a foreign education, Parvana must transform herself into a boy, and become the breadwinner.

Parvana's Journey
A war is raging in Afghanistan as a coalition of Western forces tries to oust the Taliban by bombing the country. Parvana's father has died, and her mother, sister and brother have gone to a faraway wedding. Parvana doesn't know where they are. She just knows she has to find them.

Mud City
Parvana's best friend, Shauzia, has escaped the misery of her life in Kabul, only to end up in a refugee camp in Pakistan. But she still dreams of seeing the ocean and eventually making a new life in France.

My Name Is Parvana
Parvana, now fifteen, is found in a bombed-out school and held as a suspected terrorist by American troops in Afghanistan. As she waits for foreign military forces to determine her fate, she remembers the past four years of her life.

Genre: Young Adult Fiction    

Used availability for Deborah Ellis's The Breadwinner Series Boxed Set

Paperback Editions

September 2015 : Canada Paperback

Title: Breadwinner Series Boxed Set / Set The Breadwinner Series Boxed Set
Author(s): Deborah Ellis
ISBN: 1-55498-822-5 / 978-1-55498-822-8 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Groundwood
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA