book cover of Zimiamvia
Added by 1 of our members


A Trilogy
(A book in the Zimiamvia series)
An omnibus of novels by

The classic epic trilogy of parallel worlds, admired by Tolkien and the great prototype for The Lord of the Rings and modern fantasy fiction. Also includes The Worm Ouroboros.

When Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings was published, reviewers saw that there was only one author with whom he could legitimately be compared: Eric Rucker Eddison (1882-1945). He met both Tolkien and Lewis, and was cited by both as the game-changer in fantastic literature and a key influence on them. His two principal works - the sprawling and opulent fantasy trilogy Zimiamvia (which has been favourably compared to Mervyn Peake's Gormenghast) and the earlier hedonistic The Worm Ouroboros (a cross between H.P. Lovecraft and Lord Dunsany) - put Eddison up among the masters of his craft. Admirers including Ursula Le Guin, Robert Silverberg and Clive Barker have all lined up to praise his books.

This complete eBook edition includes the three books of the Zimiamvia Trilogy - Mistress of Mistresses, A Fish Dinner in Memison, and The Mezentian Gate, together with the epic prelude novel The Worm Ouroboros.

Genre: Fantasy

Praise for this book

"The greatest and most convincing writer of invented worlds I have read." - J R R Tolkien

Used availability for E R Eddison's Zimiamvia

Paperback Editions

August 1992 : USA Paperback

Title: Zimiamvia: A Trilogy
Author(s): E R Eddison
ISBN: 0-440-50300-0 / 978-0-440-50300-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dell
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

December 2014 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Complete Zimiamvia (Zimiamvia)
Author(s): E R Eddison
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU